



SENATE SELECT COMMITTEE ON JUDICIAL OVERSIGHT AND REFORM

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

Mary Ann Dunwell Janet Ellis Jason Ellsworth Daniel Emrich Steve Fitzpatrick Chris Friedel Carl Glimm Jen Gross Steve Hinebauch Tom McGillvray Wendy McKamey Shane Morigeau Mark Noland Andrea Olsen Barry Usher

HOUSE MEMBERS

Lyn Hellegaard Fiona Nave Sue Vinton

COMMITTEE STAFF

Daniel Rosenberg - Secretary

PUBLIC MEMBERS

Andrew Billstein Joan Mell Jim Ramlow

MINUTES LOG

April 29, 2024 Capitol Room 137 Helena. Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Jason Ellsworth, Presiding Officer (R)

Sen. Barry Usher, Vice Presiding Officer (R)

Sen. Daniel Emrich (R)

Sen. Steve Fitzpatrick (R)

Sen. Chris Friedel (R)

Sen. Carl Glimm (R)

Sen. Steve Hinebauch (R)

Sen. Tom McGillvray (R) Sen. Wendy McKamey (R)

Sen. Mark Noland (R)

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Daniel Rosenberg, Secretary

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST

COMMITTEE ACTION

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

10:01:44 Presiding Officer Jason Ellsworth called the meeting to order at 10:01 AM. The

committee secretary took roll.

WELCOME

10:02:27	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
10:06:27	Presiding Officer Sen. Ellsworth
10:09:05	Vice Presiding Officer Usher

INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS

INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS		
10:12:16	Presiding Officer Ellsworth	
10:13:07	Sen. Friedel	
10:13:39	Rep. Hellegaard	
10:13:53	Sen. Emrich	
10:14:32	Jim Ramlow, Attorney, Whitefish	
10:15:16	Joan Mell, Attorney, Hamilton	
10:15:26	Sen. McGillvray	
10:15:37	Rep. Nave	
10:15:57	Sen. Fitzpatrick joined the meeting via Zoom.	
10:16:02	Sen. McKamey	
10:16:29	Sen. Glimm	
10:16:40	Sen. Noland	
10:17:03	Vice Presiding Officer Usher	
10:17:34	Rep. Vinton	
10:17:55	Sen. Hinebauch	
10:18:11	Sen. Fitzpatrick	
10:18:25	Andrew Billstein, Attorney, Billings	

US AND MONTANA CONSTITUTION 101

10:20:00 Jim Ramlow, Attorney, Ramlow & Rudbach

EXHIBIT 1

10:26:16 Presiding Officer Ellsworth

10:26:56 Jim Ramlow

EXHIBIT 2

Public Comment

11:15:17 Jerry O'Neil, Former Legislator

Committee Questions/ Discussion

	uestions/ Discussion
11:21:58	Sen. McGillvray
11:23:08	Jim Ramlow
11:26:07	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
11:26:59	Jim Ramlow
11:27:46	Sen. McGillvray
11:28:27	Jim Ramlow
11:31:19	Sen. McGillvray
11:33:37	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
11:34:39	Jim Ramlow
11:34:48	Sen. McGillvray
11:35:13	Jim Ramlow
11:36:22	Sen. Glimm
11:37:47	Jim Ramlow
11:39:30	Sen. Noland
11:40:05	Sen. Usher
11:40:35	Sen. Emrich
11:41:31	Jim Ramlow
11:50:03	Sen. McGillvray
11:51:37	Jim Ramlow
11:53:18	Sen. Friedel
11:54:04	Jim Ramlow
11:54:24	Sen. Usher
11:54:51	Jim Ramlow
11:55:23	Presiding Officer Ellsworth

RECESS

11:55:53 Reconvened at 1:30 p.m.

COMMITTEE WORK SESSION

Motion

13:28:49 Vice Presiding Officer Usher moved to allow proxy voting in this committee.

13:29:04 **Vote:** Carried unanimously by voice vote.

SEPARATION OF POWERS/ROLE AND AUTHORITY OF EACH BRANCH OF GOVERNMENT

13:29:34 Jim Ramlow (see Exhibit 1)

RECESS

14:31:56 Reconvened at 2:40 p.m.

Public Comment

14:41:07 George Wolcott, Chief of Staff for the Senate Democratic Caucus

Committee Questions/ Discussion

14:42:15	Vice Presiding Officer Usher
14:42:48	Jim Ramlow
14:47:33	Andrew Billstein
14:48:08	Jim Ramlow
14:49:48	Sen. Noland
14:50:26	Jim Ramlow
14:51:15	Vice Presiding Officer Usher
14:51:54	Jim Ramlow
14:54:03	Vice Presiding Officer Usher
14:54:32	Joan Mell
14:58:22	Sen. McGillvray
15:00:47	Jim Ramlow
15:10:06	Sen. Emrich
15:13:12	Jim Ramlow
15:17:06	Joan Mell
15:19:42	Rep. Nave
15:21:10	Jim Ramlow
15:24:37	Sen. McGillvray
15:26:52	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
15:27:53	Jim Ramlow
15:28:12	Joan Mell
15:29:41	Vice Presiding Officer Usher
15:30:29	Jim Ramlow
15:30:57	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
15:32:17	Jim Ramlow

Public Comment

15:35:38	George Wolcott, Chief of Staff for the Senate Democratic Caucus
	EXHIBIT 3
15:37:02	Presiding Officer Ellsworth

COMMITTEE WORK SESSION

15:38:28	Todd Everts, Director, Legal Services Office, Legislative Services Division
	EXHIBIT 4
	EXHIBIT 5

Presiding Officer Ellsworth 15:50:36

Committee Questions/ Discussion

Committee Questions/ Discussion	
15:50:56	Vice Presiding Officer Usher
15:51:28	Todd Everts
15:53:32	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
15:54:31	Sen. Glimm
15:56:24	Todd Everts
16:01:00	Sen. Noland
16:01:34	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
16:02:12	Todd Everts
16:02:41	Sen. Friedel
16:03:38	Todd Everts
16:07:23	Sen. McKamey
16:07:47	Todd Everts
16:08:29	Rep. Nave
16:09:34	Todd Everts
16:10:36	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
16:12:43	Todd Everts
16:13:31	Sen. Emrich
16:14:04	Todd Everts
16:15:00	Sen. Emrich
16:15:27	Sen. Friedel
16:15:40	Vice Presiding Officer Usher
16:15:57	Todd Everts
16:16:49	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
16:17:06	Sen. Fitzpatrick
16:18:04	Todd Everts

16:18:40

Future Topics 16:19:15 Vice Presiding Officer Usher

Presiding Officer Ellsworth

Committee Questions/ Discussion

16:19:59	Sen. McKamey
16:20:21	Sen. Noland
16:21:18	Sen. McGillvray
16:24:39	Sen. Fitzpatrick
16:26:33	Sen. Noland
16:27:01	Joan Mell
16:27:43	Sen. Friedel

16:28:23	Andrew Billstein
16:29:21	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
16:29:53	Sen. Emrich
16:31:14	Rep. Nave
16:32:03	Sen. McGillvray
16:32:27	Vice Presiding Officer Usher
16:33:00	Presiding Officer Ellsworth
16:37:14	Vice Presiding Officer Usher

ADJOURNMENT

Adjournment: 16:38:39