

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS MIKE CUFFE JANET ELLIS FORREST MANDEVILLE WENDY MCKAMEY HOUSE MEMBERS JULIE DOOLING, Chair KELLY KORTUM, Vice Chair MARTA BERTOGLIO ROSS FITZGERALD GREGORY FRAZER ED STAFMAN

COMMITTEE STAFF

REBECCA POWER, Lead Staff ANDRIA HARDIN, Staff Attorney LJ JENNINGS, Secretary

MEETING AGENDA

HJ 23 Subcommittee of the State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee

Thursday, May 16, 2024 Zoom Only

All times are approximate. Some agenda items may take more or less time than scheduled.

10:00 A.M. CALL TO ORDER | ROLL CALL | MEETING OVERVIEW

Representative Ross Fitzgerald, Subcommittee Chair

10:05 A.M. **HJ 23: INTERIM STUDY OF DISASTER AND EMERGENCY RECOVERY AND RESPONSE EFFORTS**

- Panel Discussion Counties and Conservation Districts
 - o Commissioner Tyrel Hamilton Stillwater County Commission
 - Commissioner Bill Bullock Carbon County Commission
 - o David Stamey Stillwater County, Chief, Emergency Services
 - Cyrina Allen Carbon County Emergency Manager/Carbon County Public Health Officer
 - o Denise Thompson, Broadwater Conservation District
 - Hailey Graf, 310 Specialist, DNRC Conservation Districts Bureau
- Committee Questions and Discussion
- Public Comment on HJ 23*
- Additional Committee Questions and Discussion

11:40 A.M. SUBCOMMITTEE WORK SESSION

- Next Steps for HJ 23 Study
- Report to SAVA Committee
- Next Meeting
- Instructions to Staff

NOON ADJOURN

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

At the times specified on the agenda, the presiding officer will call for public comment from people attending in person and via Zoom. The committee may be slightly ahead of or behind the time scheduled for public comment on the agenda. The presiding officer may limit the time available for public comment.

Virtually: Please complete the <u>online form for remote participation</u> by 5 p.m. the day prior to the meeting. You will receive an email with the login information by 11:59 p.m. the night before the meeting.

In Writing: You may submit written comments either through the <u>online form for written comments</u> or by mailing the comments to Rebecca Power, P.O. Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620. Comments received before 5 p.m. the day before the meeting will be given to SAVA members during the meeting. Comments received after that time will be sent to the committee members after the meeting.

*Public comment provided in person or remotely at a commission meeting is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing at a commission meeting is a public record that will be posted to the legislative website as part of the minutes log for the commission meeting.

ACCESSIBILITY

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Jessica James at (406) 444-3267 or jessica.james@legmt.gov as soon as possible before the meeting date.