



# STATE-TRIBAL RELATIONS COMMITTEE 68th Montana Legislature

#### SENATE MEMBERS

Bob Brown Mike Fox Jason Small Susan Webber

#### **HOUSE MEMBERS**

Tony Brockman Joe Read Tyson Running Wolf Lola Sheldon-Galloway Frank Smith Sharon Stewart Peregoy

#### **COMMITTEE STAFF**

Casey Pallister - Research Analyst Laura Sankey Keip – Attorney Bethany McDowell James - Secretary

# **MINUTES LOG**

October 06, 2023 Box Elder, MT Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at <a href="https://leg.mt.gov">https://leg.mt.gov</a>. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Sen. Jason Small, Chair (R)

Rep. Tyson Running Wolf, Vice Chair (D)

Rep. Tony Brockman (R)

Rep. Frank Smith (D)

Sen. Susan Webber (D)

#### **MEMBERS EXCUSED:**

Sen. Bob Brown (R)

Sen. Mike Fox (D)

Rep. Joe Read (R)

Rep. Lola Sheldon-Galloway (R)

Rep. Sharon Stewart Peregoy (D)

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Casey Pallister, Research Analyst Laura Sankey Keip, Attorney Bethany McDowell James. Secretary

## **AGENDA** (Attachment 1)

#### **VISITORS' LIST**

# **CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL**

10:03:21 Chair Small called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM. The committee secretary took roll.

### **OPENING REMARKS**

10:04:18	The committee members introduced themselves to the Chippewa Cree Tribal
	Council.

10:06:05 The council members introduced themselves to the committee.

#### DISCUSSION WITH CHIPPEWA CREE TRIBAL COUNCIL

	To date Described Vice Chairman of the Chimpson Cross Tribal Council
10:07:17	Teddy Russette, Vice Chairman of the Chippewa Cree Tribal Council
10:08:36	Sen. Webber
10:10:48	Loni Taylor, Councilwoman
10:13:30	Joseph Rosette, Councilman
10:14:06	Joel Rosette, CEO, Rocky Boy Health Center
10:24:49	Chair Small
10:27:00	Sen. Webber
10:28:45	Joel Rosette
10:32:45	Rep. Brockman
10:34:31	Rep. Running Wolf
10:38:40	Joel Rosette
10:47:21	Sen. Webber
10:48:11	Rep. Smith
10:49:48	Joel Rosette
10:51:44	Rep. Smith
10:55:00	Sen. Webber
11:01:17	Chair Small
11:01:57	Joel Rosette
11:03:38	Teddy Russette
11:04:22	Sen. Webber
11:05:10	Joel Rosette
11:05:23	Loni Taylor
11:07:47	Rep. Running Wolf
11:08:21	Teddy Russette
11:09:03	Chair Small
11:10:05	Jody Lamere, Councilwoman
11:13:09	Rep. Running Wolf
11:15:06	Ethan Broncho, Councilman

11:15:50	Richard Sangrey, Chief of Staff, Chippewa Cree Tribal Council
11:18:32	Rep. Brockman
11:19:00	Richard Sangrey
11:21:30	Rep. Smith
11:22:23	Chair Small
11:22:50	Teddy Russette
11:23:44	Loni Taylor
11:24:30	Teddy Russette
11:25:10	Jody Lamere
11:26:43	Richard Sangrey
11:28:34	Karen Sangrey, Self-Governance Coordinator, Chippewa Cree Tribe
11:31:35	Rep. Running Wolf
11:32:00	Karen Sangrey
11:35:00	Rep. Smith
11:36:26	Shaneen Hammond, Director, Chippewa Cree Social Services
11:39:11	Rep. Smith
11:41:12	Sen. Webber
11:42:14	Teddy Russette
11:43:23	Jody Lamere
11:44:56	Chair Small
11:45:06	Jody Lamere
11:46:34	Teddy Russette
11:47:09	Sen. Webber
11:48:49	Chair Small

ADJOURNMENT
11:48:56 Chair Small adjourned the meeting at 11:48:56.