

Transition Review Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS DENNIS LENZ CHRISTOPHER POPE HOUSE MEMBERS MARY CAFERRO JENNIFER CARLSON PUBLIC MEMBERS ANN GEIGER REZA GHOMI MIKE LAHR SARA HANSEN-BAIAMONTE HEATHER O'HARA MIKE RANDOL MELANIE WILLIAMS COMMITTEE STAFF

MILLY ALLEN, Research Analyst JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary

AGENDA

(updated March 8, 2024)

March 11, 2024

State Capitol, Room 102 and Zoom

Please note:

- All times are approximate; some items may take more or less time than allotted.
- The agenda may be adjusted at the discretion of the presiding officer.
- See page 3 of this agenda for information on accessibility and public participation.

9:30 a.m.	Call to Order and Roll Call Chair Jennifer Carlson
):35 a.m.	 Department Updates and Reports Mike Randol – Medicaid and Health Services Executive Director/State Medicaid Director, DPHHS Presentation Committee questions and discussion Public comment on department update Committee action, if any
L0:15 a.m.	 2. Best Practices for Treatment and Care of Traumatic Brain Injury Ann Geiger – Executive Director, Liberty Place Presentation Committee questions and discussion Public comment on best practices for treatment of TBI Committee action, if any
1 <mark>1:15 a.m.</mark>	 2. Nursing Home Update Jill Sark – Montana Health Care Association Presentation Committee questions and discussion Public comment on nursing home update Committee action, if any

12:00 p.m. Lunch

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES • ANGIE CARTER, FINANCIAL MANAGER

- 1:00 p.m.3. Statutory Review: Extension and Discharge from Involuntary Civil Commitment
Maddie Krezowski, Legislative Attorney
 - Presentation
 - Committee questions and discussion
 - Public comment on civil commitment issues
 - Committee action, if any

2:00 p.m. 4. Recap of March 6 Legislator Visit to Montana State Hospital

Vice Chair Chris Pope

- Presentation
- Public comment on visit
- 2:15 p.m. 5. **Public Comment** on any matter within the scope of the Transition Review Committee.

2:30 p.m. Break

2:45 p.m. 6. Work Session

Chair Jennifer Carlson

- Site visits of Montana State Hospital/Spratt Unit
- Discussion of issues and potential solutions, legislative and non-legislative
- Agenda items and topics for next meeting (Presiding Officer and Ms. Allen)

3:30 p.m. **Adjourn**

Next meeting: July 15, 2024

COMMISSION MATERIALS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Download meeting materials, view a list of commission members, and sign up for meeting notices on the commission website: <u>https://leg.mt.gov/committees/other-groups/transition-review-committee/</u>

ACCESSIBILITY

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. Please contact committee staff as soon as possible if you need accommodations:

Milly Allen (406) 444-9280 milly.allen@legmt.gov

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

The deadline for written comment and remote testimony registration is March 8, 5:00 p.m.

The public may attend the meeting and offer public comment in the Capitol, remotely via Zoom, or in writing. The presiding officer will announce opportunities for public comment. Please note that the council may be ahead or behind the agenda when it is time for public comment.

To testify remotely, register online by 5:00 p.m. the business day before a meeting. You will receive an email the with login information by 11:59 p.m. the night before the meeting. https://leg.mt.gov/committees/other-groups/transition-review-committee/remote-participation-trc/

Written comments may be mailed or sent via the online form. Comments provided by 5:00 p.m. the business day before a meeting will be provided to the committee at that meeting; comments received after this deadline will be distributed at the next meeting.

Online form for written comment: <u>https://leg.mt.gov/committees/other-groups/transition-review-</u> committee/public-comments-trc/

Mailing address: Transition Review Committee c/o Milly Allen PO Box 201706 Helena, MT 59620