

Electric Vehicle (EV) and Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) License Plate Requirements

Austin Igleheart, Policy Specialist, Austin.igleheart@ncsl.org

February 2024

Special Electric Vehicle License Plates

Many states offer or require Electric Vehicle license plates for all EVs and certain alternative fuel vehicles. Generally these plates/decals are mandatory, with some exceptions like in Virginia, and often require an additional fee that may be allocated to a road maintenance fund or other transportation, environmental, or EV-related programs.

Plates, decals and similar identifiers may be intended for different purposes, but typically are used to confirm payment of relevant EV or alternative fuel fees or taxes, or quickly identify EVs and AFVs for the purpose of traffic policy enforcement or accident and emergency response. Examples of states that require or offer EV license plates are included below, as well as a selection of states with policies providing for EV decals or registration stickers. Note: there are states that have recently considered these types of measures but have not enacted them. For example, New Jersey considered a bill (listed below) to require EV/AFV decals in 2022, but it did not pass.

Arizona

Per <u>Arizona Statute 28-2416</u>, the AZ DOT must issue a special license plate to certain AFVs. AFVs include vehicles powered exclusively by propane, compressed natural gas, electricity, hydrogen, or a blend of hydrogen with propane or natural gas, and not be capable of operating on any other fuel type. The DOT also issues AFV license plates to converted vehicles. More info can be found on the ADOT <u>Specialty</u> <u>Plates website</u>.

Colorado

Per <u>Colorado Revised Statutes 42-3-259</u>, the Department of Revenue must issue a special license plate for EVs starting in 2022. The taxes and fees for the EV license plates is the same as the amount as the taxes and fees for regular motor vehicle license plates.

Illinois

Illinois offers EV license plates for vehicles that operate only on electricity. New EV registrations require a \$155 title fee and a \$251 registration fee, as well as a \$100 fee in lieu of motor fuel taxes. ($625 \text{ ILCS} \frac{5}{3-805}$).

Massachusetts

Massachusetts offers <u>EV license plates</u> for an additional \$40 tax-deductible fee, which supports the state's Environmental Trust. This fee must also be paid upon renewal of an EV license plate. EV plates must be renewed every two years.

Rhode Island

The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may issue special vehicle license plates to owners of electric drive vehicles, including those powered in whole or in part by a storage battery. Eligible vehicles

include hybrid electric, plug-in hybrid electric, and all-electric vehicles registered as electric drive vehicles in the state. The license plate fee is \$32.50. (<u>Rhode Island General Laws 31-3-101</u>).

Virginia

<u>Clean Special Fuel plates</u> are offered by DMV based on the fuel type used to power your vehicle, but are not required for EV or other AFV owners. The vehicle must be exclusively powered by clean special fuel in order to be eligible for a clean special fuel plate. The annual fee for each clean special fuel license plates is \$25 in addition to the regular vehicle registration fee. \$15 of the \$25 fee goes to the Virginia State Police HOV-Enforcement fund.

EV/Alternative Fuel Vehicle Decal

Several other states provide EV or AFV decals, which help identify the vehicle as an EV, which can allow them to use HOV lanes or certain parking spaces, or help first responders quickly identify the type of vehicle. These decals typically require a fee on top of vehicle registration fees. Images are included where they could be found.

California provides EV decals that meet emissions criteria set by the CA Air Resources Board (CARB). <u>California Vehicle Code (CVC) §§5205.5</u> and <u>21655.9</u>. Requirements and eligibility can be found <u>here</u>.



Florida offers an EV decal to users of EV or hybrid vehicles for a \$5 fee. The decal allows EV driver to use the HOV lane regardless of occupancy. (Florida <u>Statutes 316.0741(5)</u>)



lowa

When a motor vehicle is modified to use a different fuel type or more than one type of fuel, the vehicle's registered owner must notify the county treasurer of the new fuel type or alternative fuel types within 30 days. If the vehicle is able to use a special fuel, the county treasurer will issue a special fuel identification sticker. (<u>lowa Code 321.41</u>)

New Jersey <u>AB 4802</u> (failed) was introduced in 2022, but did not pass. It would have required the state to provide EV decals to EV and plug-in hybrid vehicle owners to help identify their vehicles as EVs or hybrids to traffic safety officials and first responders.

New York has a <u>Clean Pass program</u> for EVs and other low-emission vehicles, which allows them to use HOV lanes in the state until 2025 when all single occupant vehicles will be barred. No fee is required to obtain the decal.



Utah

The Utah State Tax Commission may require vehicles operating on clean fuels to be inspected for safe operation. In addition, clean fuel vehicles that have a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 26,000 pounds or have more than three axels (commercial vehicles) are required to obtain a special fuel user permit from the Commission. Clean fuels are defined as propane, natural gas, electricity, and hydrogen. Utah Code 59-13-303 and 59-13-304. The state offered a special EV license plate until 2011, but now only offers a <u>Clean Vehicle HOV Pass</u>.



Wisconsin <u>SB 70/Act 19</u> (enacted 2023) requires EVs, not including hybrids, to have a special decal indicating it is an electric vehicle. The decals must be attached to the license plates.