

Transportation Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
MIKE FOX
THERESA MANZELLA - Chair
BARRY USHER

SHELLEY VANCE

HOUSE MEMBERS
DENISE BAUM - Vice Chair
SCOT KERNS
DENLEY LOGE
ZACK WIRTH

COMMITTEE STAFF
SARA HESS, Research Analyst
JOE CARROLL, Staff Attorney
DANIEL ROSENBERG, Secretary

From: Joe Carroll

To: TIC

Date: January 31, 2024

Re: historic composition of transportation commission districts

2-15-2502, MCA, organizes Montana's counties into five districts for the transportation commission.

The legislature enacted 2-15-2502 in 1965. At that time the five districts were:

- (1) Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli, Granite, Lewis and Clarke, Jefferson, Broadwater;
- (2) Powell, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, Meagher, Wheatland, Park, Sweet Grass;
- (3) Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Blaine, Pondera, Teton, Choteau, Cascade, Judith Basin:
- (4) Fergus, Petroleum, Garfield, Phillips, Valley, McCone, Prairie, Dawson, Wibaux, Richland. Roosevelt. Daniels. Sheridan: and
- (5) Golden Valley, Stillwater, Carbon, Big Horn, Yellowstone, Musselshell, Rosebud, Treasure, Custer, Powder River, Carter, Fallon.

The legislative history from 1965 does not indicate the basis for the five districts.

In 1983 the legislature revised the makeup of the five districts to align with the Department of Highways' five administrative districts. The 1983 revision created the districts we have today. The 1983 revision appears below:

- (1) Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli, Granite, Lewis and Clarke, Jefferson, Broadwater Powell;
- (2) Powell, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, Meagher, Wheatland, Broadwater, Jefferson, Park, Sweet Grass;
- (3) Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Blaine, Pondera, Teton, Choteau, Cascade, Judith Basin-Lewis and Clarke;
- (4) Fergus, Petroleum Carter, Powder River, Fallon, Custer, Rosebud, Garfield, Phillips, Valley, McCone, Prairie, Dawson, Wibaux, Richland, Roosevelt, Daniels, Sheridan; and

(5) Golden Valley, Stillwater, Carbon, Big Horn, Yellowstone, Musselshell, <u>Judith Basin, Fergus, Petroleum Rosebud</u>, Treasure, <u>Custer, Powder River, Carter, Fallon</u> Wheatland, Sweet Grass.

The 1983 law also required that there be five financial districts congruent with the five transportation commission districts for the purposes of apportioning federal highway dollars. After revisions in the 1990s, that requirement is now found in 60-3-219, MCA.