

Transportation Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

MIKE FOX THERESA MANZELLA - Chair BARRY USHER SHELLEY VANCE **HOUSE MEMBERS**

DENISE BAUM – Vice Chair SCOT KERNS DENLEY LOGE ZACK WIRTH **COMMITTEE STAFF**

SARA HESS, Research Analyst JOE CARROLL, Staff Attorney DANIEL ROSENBERG, Secretary

AGENDA

Transportation Interim Committee

January 31, 2024 State Capitol Building, Room 137 Agenda times are approximate.

- 9:00 Call to Order Roll Call Senator Manzella, Chair
- 9:05 Administrative Matters Megan Moore, Research Analyst
 - Introduction of new staff
 - Questions from the committee
- 9:10 CDL Requirements topic
 - Montana statutes vs. federal regulations Joe Carroll, Staff attorney
 - Public Comment*
 - Questions from the committee
- 9:30 Agency Update DOJ MVD
 - Implementation of CARS Laurie Bakri, MVD Administrator
 - Public Comment*
 - Questions from the committee
- 10:00 Agency Update MDT
 - Agency updates Malcom "Mack" Long, Director, and staff
 - Public Comment*
 - Questions from the committee
- **10:30** Transportation Commission
 - Overview of authority and duties
 - o Loran Frazier, Commission Chair
 - Chris Nygren, Chief Legal Counsel, MDT
 - History of transportation districts Joe Carroll, Staff Attorney
 - Public Comment*
 - Questions from the committee

11:00 HJ 15/HJ 16 topic

- Vulnerable Road User Assessment presentation Pam Langve-Davis, Comprehensive Highway Safety Plan Manager, MDT
- Review of recent bicycle legislation and trends Megan Moore, Research Analyst
- Public Comment*
- Questions from the committee

12:00 Lunch

1:00 **Definitions in MCA** - Joe Carroll, Staff Attorney

• Questions from the committee

1:30 Electric Vehicles & Fire Safety topic

- Panel Presentation
 - Matt Bowman, Energy Security Administration
 - Josh Fisher, Alliance for Automotive Innovation
 - Ole Hedstrom, Montana State Firefighters Association
- Battery disposal Chris Dorrington, Director, Department of Environmental Quality
- Public Comment*
- Questions from the committee

2:45 Hydrogen fuel overview

- Overview of Pacific Northwest Hydrogen Regional Hub and funding award
 - Matt Morrison, Executive Director, PNWER
 - o George Bailey, Associate Managing Member, St. Regis Solar Hydrogen
 - o Bruce Agnew, Director, PNWER Regional Infrastructure Accelerator
 - o Shane Getson, Member of the Legislative Assembly, Alberta
- Public Comment*
- Questions from the committee

3:45 Administrative Rule Review – *Joe Carroll, Staff Attorney*

Questions from the committee

4:15 Public comment* on any item in TIC's subject matter jurisdiction

4:30 Committee Work Session

- 1. <u>Agency updates</u>: What questions or topics would you like agencies to address at future meetings?
- 2. <u>HJ 15/16</u>: What questions do you still have on this topic? Are there speakers or stakeholders the TIC would like to invite for future meetings

- or next steps it would like to take? What would the committee like study with regard to shared use paths?
- 3. <u>Electric Vehicles/Fire Safety</u>: What questions do you still have on this topic? Are there speakers or stakeholders the TIC would like to invite for future meetings or next steps it would like to take?
- 4. <u>CDL Requirements</u>: What questions do you still have on this topic? Are there speakers or stakeholders the TIC would like to invite for future meetings or next steps it would like to take?
- 5. <u>Future topics:</u> What questions do you have on future topics that staff can take into consideration? Are there speakers or stakeholders the TIC would like to invite for future meetings or next steps it would like to take?
- 6. Additional instructions to staff, if any

5:00 Adjournment

TIC MATERIALS AND COMMUNICATIONS

TIC materials, including agendas, minutes, and public comment, are public record. To download current and past meeting materials, view a list of committee members, and sign up for meeting notices and other communications, please go to the website: https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/tic/

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Registration deadline for virtual public comment is January 30 @ 5 PM

The public may attend the meeting and offer public comment in the Capitol or provide public comment either remotely via Zoom or in writing.

In person: A podium with microphone is available for your public comment. You are welcome to leave written comment for the council instead of or in addition to your spoken comment. (See "In writing," next page.)

Virtually: Please submit the online form for remote participation: https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/tic/meeting-info/remote-participation-tic/
You will receive an email with the login information by 11:59 p.m. the night before the meeting.

In writing: You may submit written comments either through the <u>online form</u> or by mailing the comments to Transportation Interim Committee, PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620. Comments provided by 5 p.m. the day before the meeting will be given to the TIC at the meeting. Comments provided after that time will be given to the TIC at the next meeting.

* Public comment provided in person or remotely at a committee meeting is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing

at a committee meeting is a public record that will be posted to the legislative Web site as part of the minutes log for the committee meeting.
The Montana Legislative Services Division makes reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Dan Messerli at 406-444-4456 or Dan.Messerli@legmt.gov as soon as possible before the meeting date.