



# WATER POLICY INTERIM COMMITTEE 68th Montana Legislature

#### SENATE MEMBERS

Willis Curdy Bruce Gillespie Walt Sales Jacelyn Sterling Jeffrey Welborn

#### **HOUSE MEMBERS**

Bob Carter Jill Cohenour Marty Malone Russel Miner Bob Phalen Kenneth Walsh

#### **COMMITTEE STAFF**

Jason Mohr - Research Analyst Alexis Sandru - Attorney Jacelyn Sterling - Secretary

# **MINUTES LOG**

January 16, 2024

Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at <a href="https://leg.mt.gov">https://leg.mt.gov</a>. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Rep. Kenneth Walsh, Chair (R)

Rep. Jill Cohenour, Vice Chair (D)

Sen. Willis Curdy (D)

Sen. Bruce Gillespie (R)

Rep. Marty Malone (R)

Rep. Russel Miner (R)

Rep. Bob Phalen (R)

Sen. Walt Sales (R)

Sen. Jeffrey Welborn (R)

#### **MEMBERS EXCUSED:**

Rep. Bob Carter (D)

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Jason Mohr, Research Analyst Alexis Sandru, Attorney Jacelyn Sterling, Secretary

#### **AGENDA** (Attachment 1)

#### **VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)**

#### **COMMITTEE ACTION**

#### **CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL**

Presiding Officer, Kenneth Walsh called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM. The 10:04:00 committee secretary took roll.

#### **MEETING OVERVIEW**

10:05:58 Jason Mohr

Presiding Officer Walsh 10:10:56

#### **HB 520 STUDY OF PRIVATE PONDS**

10:11:37 Jason Mohr

10:13:24 Eileen Ryce, Administrator, Fisheries Division, Fish Wildlife and Parks (FWP)

> EXHIBIT1 **EXHIBIT2**

## **Public Comment**

10:34:44 Clayton Elliott, Montana Trout Unlimited

10:39:32 John Keller

**EXHIBIT3** 

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

10:43:15	Sen. Curdy
10:45:48	Rep. Miner
10:46:50	Vice Presidi

Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour 10:46:50

10:48:13 Rep. Malone 10:52:06 Sen. Gillespie 10:54:08 Sen. Curdy Sen. Welborn 10:59:19 11:01:11 Rep. Phalen

11:02:16 Rep. Phalen to John Keller

11:04:26 Rep. Phalen

Presiding Officer Walsh

11:05:54 11:09:46 Sen. Curdy Sen Sales 11:10:40 11:14:16 Rep. Miner 11:19:04 Rep. Phalen

#### **REPORT ON INSTREAM LEASING**

11:20:59 Jason Mohr 11:21:13 Bill Schenk, Manager, Land and Water Program, FWP

EXHIBIT4

## **Public Comment**

11:43:46 Clayton Elliott, Montana Trout Unlimited

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

11:45:32	Sen. Sales
11:48:48	Rep. Malone
11:51:30	Rep. Phalen

#### **UPDATE ON WESTERN MONTANA CONSERVATION COMMISSION**

11:55:10 Jason Mohr

11:55:21 Casey Lewis, Executive Director, Western Montana Conservation Commission

**EXHIBIT5** 

#### **Public Comment**

None

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

12:06:54	Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour
12:08:25	Sen. Curdy
12:12:09	Sen. Gillespie
12:14:09	Rep. Phalen

#### Recess

12:15:49

#### Reconvened

13:40:38

#### **MONTANA RESEARCH: MONTANA WATER CENTER**

13:41:13	Jason Mohr
13:41:23	Stephanie Ewing, Director, Montana Water Center

EXHIBIT7

#### **Public Comment**

14:03:17	Ann Schwend, Sustainable Communities Policy Director, Montana
	Environmental Information Center
14:05:01	Krista Lee Evans, Agricultural Resources Association

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

14:06:33	Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour
14:08:59	Rep. Miner
14.11.27	Sen Sales

14:13:51	Rep. Malone
14:15:17	Sen. Curdy
14:18:42	Sen. Gillespie

#### **STUDY OF WATER STORAGE**

14:23:46 Ginette Abdo, manager, Ground Water Investigation Program, Montana Bureau

of Mines and Geology (MBMG)

**EXHIBIT8** 

#### **Public Comment**

15:13:29	Mike Murphy, Montana Water Resources Association
15:14:18	Clayton Elliott, Montana Trout Unlimited
15:16:59	Krista Lee Evans, Association of Gallatin Agricultural Irrigators (AGAI)
15:19:40	Raylee Honeycutt, Montana Stock Growers Association

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

15:21:13	Sen. Gillespie to Ginette Abdo
15:22:32	Rep. Miner to Ginette Abdo
15:25:58	Sen. Sales to Ginette Abdo
15:35:19	John Metesh, Director, MBMG
15:37:52	Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour to John Metesh
15:39:39	Sen. Gillespie to Ginette Abdo
15:41:35	Rep. Miner to Ginette Abdo

#### PROPOSED ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

15:42:49	Jason Mohr
15:43:27	Alexis Sandru
	EXHIBIT9

15:44:55 Lyndsey Krywaruchka, Administrator, Water Quality Division, Department of

Environmental Quality (DEQ)

EXHIBIT10

#### **Public Comment**

15:55:41	Kelly Lynch, Montana League of City and Towns
15:59:59	Alan Olsen, Montana Petroleum Association
16:02:41	John Sandru, Montana Mining Association
16:03:23	John Iverson, Treasure State Resource Association

#### **Committee Questions, and Discussion**

16:03:55	Sen. Curdy
16:05:49	Alexis Sandru
16:06:45	Sen. Curdy

16:08:33	Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour
16:09:02	Lyndsey Krywaruchka, DEQ
16:11:56	Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour
16:12:43	Rep. Phalen
16:13:02	Lyndsey Krywaruchka
16:13:57	Rep. Phalen
16:14:12	Alan Olsen
16:14:29	Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour
16:15:09	Kelly Lynch
16:15:42	Sen. Welborn
16:17:39	Lyndsey Krywaruchka
16:19:29	Sen. Welborn
16:20:35	Sen. Sales
16:22:05	Lyndsey Krywaruchka

## FEDERAL RULES RELATED TO WATER

16:22:46	Jason Mohr
10.44.40	บลอบเมเทบเม

16:24:21 Greg Bureauy, Lead in School Drinking Water Rule Manager, Public Water

Supply, DEQ EXHIBIT11 EXHIBIT12

16:32:22 Lyndsey Krywaruchka, DEQ

EXHIBIT13

#### **Public Comment**

None

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

16:35:23 Sen. Curdy

#### **GROWTH-RELATED DEMANDS AND IMPACTS**

16:38:06 Jason Mohr

16:38:28 Chris Dorrington, Director, DEQ

#### **Public Comment**

None

# **Committee Questions, Discussion**

16:42:32 Sen. Curdy 16:44:30 Sen. Sales

#### **UPDATE ON GALLATIN RIVER IMPAIRED WATERS**

16:50:12 Jason Mohr

16:50:46 Eric Sivers, Water Quality Division Advisor, DEQ

#### **Public Comment**

None

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

16:54:27 Rep. Cohenour16:56:58 Sen. Sales

16:59:07 Presiding Officer Walsh to Stephanie Ewing

## UPDATE ON OPERATION OF SKD DAM AND FLATHEAD LAKE

17:03:15 Jason Mohr

17:04:47 Brian Lipscomb, CEO, Energy Keepers Inc.

#### **Public Comment**

None

#### **Committee Questions, Discussion**

17:08:44 Sen. Curdy 17:12:30 Sen. Sales

17:17:53 Vice Presiding Officer Cohenour

#### **Closing Remarks**

17:18:40 Presiding Officer Walsh

# <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Adjournment: 17:19:42