

WATER POLICY INTERIM COMMITTEE 68th Montana Legislature

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

SENATE MEMBERS Willis Curdy Bruce Gillespie Walt Sales Jeffrey Welborn HOUSE MEMBERS Bob Carter Jill Cohenour Marty Malone Russel Miner Bob Phalen Kenneth Walsh COMMITTEE STAFF Jason Mohr - Research Analyst Alexis Sandru - Attorney Jacelyn Sterling - Secretary

MINUTES LOG

March 19, 2024 317

Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Rep. Kenneth Walsh, Chair (R) Rep. Jill Cohenour, Vice Chair (D) Rep. Bob Carter (D) Sen. Willis Curdy (D) Sen. Bruce Gillespie (R) Rep. Marty Malone (R) Rep. Russel Miner (R) Rep. Bob Phalen (R) Sen. Walt Sales (R) Sen. Jeffrey Welborn (R)

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Jason Mohr, Research Analyst Alexis Sandru, Attorney Jacelyn Sterling, Secretary

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (<u>Attachment 2</u>)

COMMITTEE ACTION

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

08:10:53 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh called the meeting to order at 8:10 AM.

UPDATE ON COMPREHENSIVE WATER REVIEW

08:11:35 Anna Pakenham Stevenson, Administrator, Water Resources Division, DNRC EXHIBIT1

Public Comment

- 08:38:13 Clayton Elliott, Montana Trout Unlimited (MTU)
- 08:41:55 Jon Metropoulos, Senior Ag Water Rights Alliance (SAWRA)
- 08:47:38 Julie Merritt

Committee Questions, Discussion

- 08:50:35 Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
- 08:51:58 Jon Metropoulos, SAWRA
- 08:52:34 Sen. Walt Sales
- 08:53:15 Jon Metropoulos
- 08:54:33 Sen. Walt Sales
- 08:55:38 Anna Pakenham Stevenson, DNRC
- 08:56:07 Sen. Walt Sales
- 09:03:04 Clayton Elliott, MTU
- 09:04:09 Sen. Willis Curdy
- 09:08:21 Anna Pakenham Stevenson
- 09:10:21 Rep. Bob Carter
- 09:11:09 Jon Metropoulos
- 09:12:08 Rep. Bob Carter
- 09:12:29 Jon Metropoulos
- 09:13:23 Rep. Bob Carter
- 09:14:07 Anan Pakenham Stevenson

UPDATE FROM SUBCOMMITTEE ON WATER RIGHTS INFORMATION SYSTEM

- 09:16:36 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
- 09:20:33 Jason Mohr
- 09:20:47 Anna Pakenham Stevenson, Administrator, Water Resources Division, DNRC <u>EXHIBIT2</u> <u>EXHIBIT3</u>

09:37:44 Russ McElyea, Chief Water Judge, Montana Water Court <u>EXHIBIT4</u> <u>EXHIBIT5</u>

Public Comment

- 10:02:41 Krista Lee Evans, Blake Creek Project Management
- 10:14:01 Julie Merritt

Committee Questions, Discussion

- 10:17:37 Rep. Bob Phalen
- 10:19:04 Judge, Russ McElyea
- 10:20:21 Rep. Bob Carter
- 10:24:56 Judge, Russ McElyea
- 10:25:59 Rep. Bob Carter
- 10:34:34 Anna Pakenham Stevenson, DNRC
- 10:36:16 Rep. Russel Miner
- 10:36:25 Anna Pakenham Stevenson
- 10:38:46 Rep. Russel Miner
- 10:39:25 Judge, Russ McElyea
- 10:42:10 Sen. Willis Curdy
- 10:43:12 Krista Lee Evans
- 10:46:25 Sen. Willis Curdy
- 10:53:19 Anna Pakenham Stevenson
- 10:55:03 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh

Recessed

10:55:33

Reconvened

11:05:41

WATER COMMISSIONERS: APPOINTMENTS, DUTIES, POWERS

11:06:05 Jason Mohr

EXHIBIT6

- 11:08:49 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
- 11:10:55 George Alberda, Water Commissioner, Gallatin Valley
- 11:13:27 Lesley Kenny, Water Commissioner, Willow Creek Water Storage Project
- 11:16:20 Peter Fritsch, Water Commissioner, Teton and Chouteau Counties
- 11:19:44 Pete Bertolino, Water Commissioner, Rock Creek

Public Comment

11:25:46 Ross Salmond

11:27:20 Julie Merritt

Committee Questions, Discussion

- 11:29:10 Peter Bertolino
- 11:30:24 Lesley Kenny
- 11:33:04 Rep. Bob Carter
- 11:35:48 Peter Bertolino
- 11:36:57 Rep. Bob Carter
- 11:37:17 Rep. Marty Malone
- 11:38:54 George Alberda
- 11:39:32 Sen. Jeffrey Welborn
- 11:40:24 Lesley Kenny
- 11:41:40 Sen. Walt Sales
- 11:46:46 Pete Fritsch
- 11:48:24 Pete Bortolino
- 11:49:59 Sen. Walt Sales
- 11:50:27 Pete Bortolino
- 11:51:19 Lesley Kenny
- 11:52:07 Peter Fritsch
- 11:53:35 Peter Bertolino
- 11:55:15 Sen. Willis Curdy
- 11:55:56 Peter Fritsch
- 12:02:28 Lesley Kenny
- 12:03:41 Pete Bertolino

AGENCY AND COURT ROLES ON WATER DISTRIBUTION PROCESS

- 12:06:53 Nate Ward, Bureau Chief, Water Rights, DNRC EXHIBIT7
- 12:18:38 Russ McElyea, Chief Water Judge, Montana Water Court, EXHIBIT8

Public Comment

- 12:24:07 Krista Lee Evans
- 12:25:03 Ross Salmond

Committee Questions, Discussion

- 12:26:53 Rep. Marty Malone
- 12:28:08 George Alberda
- 12:28:31 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh

12:28:41 Rep. Marty Malone

12:29:30 Krista Lee Evans

EXEMPT GROUNDWATER WELLS: SUMMARY OF RULING IN UPPER MISSOURI WATERKEEPER V. BROADWATER CO.

12:31:06 Alexis Sandru

<u>EXHIBIT9</u> EXHIBIT10

Committee Questions, Discussion

- 12:32:01 Sen. Willis Curdy
- 12:32:41 Alexis Sandru
- 12:34:10 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
- 12:34:32 Sen. Willis Curdy
- 12:35:37 Alexis Sandru
- 12:38:37 Sen. Willis Curdy

Public Comment

 12:40:00 Denise Thompson, Broadwater Conservation District <u>EXHIBIT11</u> <u>EXHIBIT12</u> <u>EXHIBIT13</u>
12:48:35 Krista Lee Evans, Senior Water Rights Coalition, AGAI

Committee Discussion

- 12:51:19 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
- 12:53:08 Rep. Marty Malone
- 12:55:12 Jason Mohr
- 12:58:09 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
- 12:59:09 Sen. Willis Curdy

PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANYTHING WITHIN THE JURSIDICTION OF WPIC

12:59:38 Kristen Corbin, Manhattan

Committee Questions, Discussion

- 13:09:19 Sen. Walt Sales
- 13:09:50 Kristen Corban
- 13:10:18 Rep. Bob Carter
- 13:10:56 Kristen Corban

ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

- 13:11:40 Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
- 13:19:30 Sen. Walt Sales
- 13:23:51 Sen. Bruce Gillespie
- 13:24:36 Sen. Willis Curdy
- 13:26:41 Rep. Russel Miner
- 13:27:43 Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
- 13:29:30 Rep. Bob Carter
- 13:31:14 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
- 13:35:12 Rep. Marty Malone
- 13:35:40 Rep. Bob Phalen
- 13:36:06 Sen. Walt Sales
- 13:36:52 Sen. Willis Curdy

ADJOURNMENT

Adjournment: 13:37:14