



# WATER POLICY INTERIM COMMITTEE 68th Montana Legislature

#### SENATE MEMBERS

Willis Curdy Bruce Gillespie Walt Sales Jeffrey Welborn

#### **HOUSE MEMBERS**

Bob Carter Jill Cohenour Marty Malone Russel Miner Bob Phalen Kenneth Walsh

#### **COMMITTEE STAFF**

Jason Mohr - Research Analyst Alexis Sandru - Attorney Jacelyn Sterling - Secretary

### **MINUTES LOG**

May 20, 2024 172 Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at <a href="https://leg.mt.gov">https://leg.mt.gov</a>. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Rep. Kenneth Walsh, Presiding Officer (R)

Rep. Jill Cohenour, Vice Presiding Officer (D)

Rep. Bob Carter (D)

Sen. Willis Curdy (D)

Sen. Bruce Gillespie (R)

Rep. Marty Malone (R)

Rep. Russel Miner (R)

Rep. Bob Phalen (R)

Sen. Walt Sales (R)

Sen. Jeffrey Welborn (R)

#### **MEMBERS EXCUSED:**

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

#### STAFF PRESENT:

Jason Mohr, Legislative Environmental Analyst Alexis Sandru, Attorney Jacelyn Sterling, Secretary

#### **AGENDA (Attachment 1)**

#### **VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)**

#### **COMMITTEE ACTION**

#### **CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL**

13:01:00 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh called the meeting to order at 1:01 PM. The committee secretary took roll.

#### **COMMITTEE OVERVIEW**

13:01:58	Jason Mohr, Legislative Environmental Analyst, Legislative Services Division
	(LSD)
13:08:41	Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh

SUMMARY (	OF SCHUTTER DECISION
13:09:19	Alexis Sandru, Legislative Attorney, LSD

EXHIBIT1 EXHIBIT2

13:17:30 Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh

#### Public Comment

r ublic Collin	ient
13:18:34	Ross Morgan, President, Montana Stock Growers Association (MSGA)
13:21:21	Krista Lee Evans
	EXHIBT3
13:25:54	Raley Honeycutt, MSGA
13:27:37	Jon Metropoulos, Senior Water Rights Alliance (SWRA)
13:33:32	Carl Devries, Roberts

#### **Committee Discussion/Questions**

	10000010111 Q000110110
13:35:26	Sen. Bruce Gillespie
13:36:51	Sen. Willis Curdy
13:38:12	Jon Metropoulos, SWRA
13:40:47	Sen. Walt Sales
13:41:21	Jon Metropoulos
13:46:41	Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
13:47:34	Krista Lee Evans
13:51:03	Rep. Bob Carter
13:51:12	Rep. Bob Phalen
13:51:37	Alexis Sandru
13:52:18	Sen. Willis Curdy
13:52:47	Rep. Marty Malone

13:53:30 Alexis Sandru

## SANITATION REVIEW AND SEPTIC SYSTEM APPROVAL AFTER BROADWATER CO. DECISION

13:54:44 Anna Pakenham Stevenson, Administrator, Water Resources Division,

Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC)

#### **Public Comment**

14:03:33 None

#### **Committee Discussion/Questions**

14:03:59	Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
14:04:33	Sen. Willis Curdy
14:04:56	Sen. Walt Sales
14:05:15	Anna Pakenham Stevenson, DNRC
14:06:07	Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
14:06:37	Anna Pakenham Stevenson

#### **HB520: STUDY OF PRIVATE PONDS**

14:07:40 Tom Woolf, Bureau Chief, Aquatic Invasive Species Bureau, Fish, Wildlife, and

Parks (FWP) EXHIBIT4

#### **Public Comment**

14:10:41 Clayton Elliot, Montana Trout Unlimited

#### **Committee Discussion/Questions**

14:18:50	Rep. Marty Malone
14:19:13	Tom Woolf, FWP
14:20:04	Sen. Willis Curdy
14:22:55	Rep. Bob Carter
14:23:44	Tom Woolf
14:24:11	Clayton Elliott
14:25:20	Rep. Bob Carter
14:25:40	Clayton Elliott
14:27:10	Rep. Marty Malone
14:27:53	Clayton Elliott
14:29:59	Rep. Bob Phalen
14:30:16	Clayton Elliott
14:32:50	Rep. Bob Phalen
14:33:17	Tom Woolf
14:34:23	Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh

14:36:15	Nate Ward, FWP
14:39:59	Clayton Elliot
14:42:14	Recessed
14:50:33	Reconvened
UPDATE TO	GOVERNOR'S DROUGHT AND WATER SUPPLY REPORT OF APRIL 15
14:51:44	Zach Holyman, Assistant Climatologist, Montana Climate Office
	EXHIBIT5
<b>Public Com</b> 15:10:34	ment None
13.10.34	Notice
	Discussion/Questions
15:10:51	Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
15:10:56	Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
15:11:36	Rep. Marty Malone
15:12:08	Zach Hoylman
15:15:16	Sen. Walt Sales
15:16:00	Zach Hoylman
Undate from	Water Pollution Control Advisory Council (WPCAC)
15:19:24	Amanda Knuteson, Presiding Officer, WPCAC
15:22:21	Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
15:25:48	Ron Pifer, WPCAC
15:29:51	Teresa Polumsky, WPCAC
15:30:57	Shannon Holmes, WPCAC
15:34:50	Dennis Teske, WPCAC
15:40:17	Ron Pifer
<b>Public Com</b> 15:41:26	ment None
13.41.20	Notice
Committee Discussion/Questions	
15:41:45	Rep. Marty Malone
15:42:19	Ron Pifer
15:45:32	Rep. Marty Malone
15:45:53	Shannon Holmes
15:46:45	Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
15:48:17	Chris Dorrington, Director, Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
15:52:13	Vice Presiding Officer Jill Cohenour
15:53:01	Amanda Knuteson

15:57:43	Rep. Bob Phalen
15:58:10	Chris Dorrington, DEQ
15:59:21	Sen. Bruce Gillespie
16:01:07	Amanda Knuteson
16:02:41	Lyndsey Krywaruchka, DEQ
16:05:21	Sen. Bruce Gillespie

#### UPDATE ON SPRING LEVELS AT FLATHEAD LAKE

16:06:12 Robert McDonald, Energy Keepers

**EXHIBIT6** 

#### **Public Comment**

16:11:51 None

#### **Committee Discussion/Questions**

16:12:00	Rep. Bob Phalen
16:12:06	Robert McDonald, Energy Keepers
16:12:46	Rep. Bob Carter
16:13:42	Robert McDonald

#### TRIENNIAL REVIEW OF WATER QUALITY STANDARDS

16:15:48 Andy Ulven, Chief, Water Quality and Mining, Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)

#### **Public Comment**

16:17:43 None

#### **Committee Discussion/Questions**

16:18:19	Presiding Officer Kenneth Walsh
16:18:27	Andy Ulven, DEQ
16:21:21	Rep. Bob Carter
16:21:28	Andy Ulven

#### Update of TMDL list (75-5-703)

16:23:04 Andy Ulven, Chief, Water Quality and Mining, DEQ

#### **Public Comment**

16:26:04 None

#### **Committee Discussion/Questions**

16:26:34	Rep. Marty Malone
16:27:06	Andy Ulven, DEQ
16:27:46	Sen. Willis Curdy

16:28:09 Andy Ulven

16:33:23 Rep. Bob Carter

16:33:40 Andy Ulven

#### **MEETING REVIEW**

16:36:34 Jason Mohr

### ADJOURNMENT

Adjournment: 16:38:59