

Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

MAYLINN SMITH

Presiding Officer Arlee, MT 59821 **JEFF ESSMANN** PO Box 80945 Billings, MT 59108 JOE LAMSON 612 Touchstone Court 3734 Potosi St. Helena, MT 59634

KENDRA MILLER

DAN STUSEK 3477 Birkland Drive Bozeman, MT 59718 Helena, MT 59602

COMMITTEE STAFF

RACHEL WEISS, Research Analyst JOE KOLMAN, Research Analyst GINGER ALDRICH, Staff Attorney LAURA SHERLEY, Secretary

AGENDA

July 20, 2021 10 a.m. State Capitol Room 102 and Zoom

The commission will take breaks and additional public comment* at the discretion of the presiding officer.

10:00 a.m. Call to Order - Roll Call - Commissioner Maylinn Smith, Presiding Officer

10:05 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks – Commissioner Smith

10:10 a.m. **Work Session**

Discuss, adopt state legislative redistricting criteria

✓ Finalize congressional redistricting criteria (if needed)

✓ Next meeting dates: August 20, others?

✓ Directions to staff for future agenda items or research

Public comment* on non-criteria topics related to redistricting 4:45 p.m.

Adjourn 5:00 p.m.

See page 2 of this agenda for information on how to participate in this public meeting.

Public Participation in the Commission Meeting

The public may:

- attend the meeting and offer public comment in the Capitol;
- provide public comment either remotely via Zoom or in writing;
- stream the meeting online at: http://sg001-harmony.sliq.net/00309/Harmony/en

To offer public comment via Zoom during the meeting, please submit the online form for remote participation: https://leg.mt.gov/districting/2020-commission/meeting-information/remote-participation-mdac/. The deadline to sign up to provide Zoom comments is 5 p.m. on July 19. You will receive an email with the login information after 5 p.m. the night before the meeting. The committee may be slightly ahead of or behind the time scheduled for public comment on the agenda. The presiding officer may limit the time available for public comment.

Written public comments may be submitted through the online form for written comment, by email to districting@mt.gov or by mailing the comments to Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission, PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620. Comments received by 5 p.m. on July 16 will be provided to the commissioners prior to the meeting. Comments received after that time but before July 20 will be given to the commissioners prior to or at the meeting. Comments received on or after July 20 will be provided to the commissioners prior to the next meeting.

* Public comment provided in person or remotely at a commission meeting is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing at a commission meeting is a public record that will be posted to the legislative Web site as part of the minutes log for the commission meeting.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Lenore Adams at 406-444-4456 or leadams@mt.gov as soon as possible before the meeting date.