

# Montana Districting and Appointment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

Commission members: Jeff Essmann

Joe Lamson

Kendra Miller

Dan Stusek

Staff:
Rachel Weiss
Research Analyst
Joe Kolman
Research Analyst
Ginger Adlrich
Attorney
Laura Sherley
Secretary

# **MINUTES LOG**

May 13, 2019 Room 137, Capitol Building Helena, Montana

<u>Please note:</u> This document is a Minutes Log and provides a notation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video record of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Each of the "Exhibits" is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed.

Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information on these recordings or the minutes log.

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**

Commissioner Jeff Essmann Commissioner Joe Lamson Commissioner Dan Stusek Commissioner Kendra Miller

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS EXCUSED**

#### STAFF PRESENT

Rachel Weiss, Research Analyst Joe Kolman, Research Analyst Ginger Aldrich, Attorney Brianon Nordhagen, Secretary

**VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 1)** 

**AGENDA (Attachment 2)** 

<u>CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL</u> – Susan Byorth Fox, Executive Director, Legislative Services Division

15:00:24 Ms. Fox called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. (Attachment 3)

#### **COMMISSION DISCUSSION**

15:01:30	Commissioner Essmann commented on receiving public comments for nominations.
45.00.44	
15:02:11	Commissioner Lamson commented on the candidate applications received by
	the commission.
15:04:29	Commissioner Stusek discussed the number of candidates.
15:05:50	Commissioner Miller asked to start the discussion with public comment.

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

None

# **NOMINATIONS AND CONSIDERATION OF CANDIDATES**

#### Motion

15:06:25 Commissioner Miller moved to nominate Mike Wheat as the commission's presiding officer.

#### **Discussion on the motion**

15:07:45 Commission discussion on motion process.

#### **Motions**

WOUGHS	
15:09:00	Commissioner Essmann moved to nominate Judge Blair Jones as the
	commission's presiding officer.
15:09:39	Commissioner Stusek moved to nominate Sandy Tutvedt as the commission's
	presiding officer.
15:10:14	Commissioner Essmann moved to nominate Ken Morrison as the commission's
	presiding officer.

#### Discussion on the motions

15:10:46	Commissioner Stusek
15:12:56	Commissioner Lamson
15:15:31	Commissioner Essmann
15:19:27	Commissioner Miller
15:20:51	Commissioner Lamson

#### Vote

15:21:03 Commissioner Miller's motion to nominate Mike Wheats failed on a 2-2 roll call vote, with Commissioner Essmann and Commissioner Stusek voting "no." (Exhibit 1)

#### **Discussion on the motion**

15:22:10	Commissioner Essmann
15:24:13	Commissioner Lamson

#### Vote

15:26:52 Commissioner Essmann's motion to nominate Judge Blair Jones failed on a 2-2 roll call vote, with Commissioner Lamson and Commissioner Miller voting "no." (Exhibit 2)

# Discussion on the motions

15:27:00	Commissioner Stusek
15:28:13	Ms. Fox
15:28:21	Commissioner Miller
15:29:18	Commissioner Essmann
15:31:11	Commissioner Lamson

#### Vote

15:31:19 Commissioner Stusek's motion to nominate Sandy Tutvedt failed on a 2-2 roll call vote, with Commissioner Lamson and Commissioner Miller voting "no." (Exhibit 3)

#### **Discussion**

15:32:09	Commissioner Lamson suggested that the nomination of the commission presiding officer be with the Montana Supreme Court's good judgement.
15:32:32	Commissioner Essmann
15:33:41	Commissioner Stusek
15:34:50	Commissioner Essmann

#### **Motion**

15:39:13 Commissioner Essmann moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Lamson.

# **Discussion on the motion**

15:39:44	Ms. Weiss asked the commission about the process to send a letter to the
	Montana Supreme Court for their decision on the presiding officer nomination.
15:41:01	Ms. Fox asked the commission how much information they would like to be put
	into the letter regarding the candidates.
15:41:19	Commissioner Essmann
15:41:50	Commissioner Stusek
15:42:23	Commissioner Lamson
15:42:27	Commissioner Miller

#### Vote

15:42:42 The motion passed on an unanimous voice vote.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

15:43:08 Ms. Fox adjourned the meeting at 3:43 p.m.

Cl0106 9141bhxa.