## Districting and Apportionment Commission to Meet May 13

The first four members of Montana's <u>Districting and Apportionment Commission</u> will meet at 3 p.m. on May 13 in Room 137 of the State Capitol in Helena to discuss the selection of the commission's fifth member. Once selected, the fifth commissioner will serve as the presiding officer. The first four members recently solicited applications from interested individuals and will consider those individuals at the meeting.

If the commissioners are unable to select a fifth member, the Montana Supreme Court will make the decision. The fifth member must be a citizen who is not a public official.

The first four members were selected by legislative leaders in the Montana Senate and House and include:

- Jeff Essmann, appointed by Senate Majority Leader Fred Thomas;
- Joe Lamson, appointed by Senator Minority Leader Jon Sesso;
- Dan Stusek, appointed by House Majority Leader Brad Tschida; and
- Kendra Miller, appointed by House Minority Leader Casey Schreiner.

An agenda for the meeting is available at the commissioner's <u>website</u>. The meeting is open to the public and will also be streamed live at <u>leg.mt.gov</u>.

If you would like to receive emailed updates about the commission's future meetings, please sign up at <a href="leg.mt.gov/lyris-list/">leg.mt.gov/lyris-list/</a>

For more information on the commission, please visit the commission's <u>website</u> or contact commission staff.

Commission website: <a href="leg.mt.gov/districting/2020-commission/">leg.mt.gov/districting/2020-commission/</a>

## **Commission staff:**

Rachel Weiss, <a href="mailto:rweiss@mt.gov">rweiss@mt.gov</a> Joe Kolman, <a href="mailto:jkolman@mt.gov">jkolman@mt.gov</a>