

# **LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE**

## 67th Montana Legislature

Room 110 Capitol Building \* P.O. Box 201711 \* Helena, MT 59620-1711 \* (406) 444-2986 \* FAX (406) 444-3036

## SENATE MEMBERS

MIKE CUFFE JANET ELLIS TOM JACOBSON BOB KEENAN RYAN LYNCH DAN SALOMON, CHAIR

#### HOUSE MEMBERS

DAVID BEDEY MARY CAFERRO, VICE CHAIR FRANK GARNER JIM HAMILTON KENNETH HOLMLUND LLEW JONES JIM KEANE EMMA KERR-CARPENTER BILL MERCER SHARON STEWART PEREGOY JONATHAN WINDY BOY COMMITTEE STAFF AMY CARLSON, Director JULIE JOHNSON, Staff Attorney KATYA GROVER, Clerk

Suicide Prevention Working Group Members Representative Garner Representative Holmlund Representative Kerr-Carpenter Representative Windy Boy

#### LFC Suicide Prevention Working Group Agenda July 27, 2022 10:00 a.m. **Via Zoom Only**

10:00 – 10:15 – Karl Rosston (MT Suicide Prevention Coordinator): review of American Indian and veteran suicide statistics and prevention efforts in Montana

10:15 – 10:30 - Stephanie Iron Shooter (DPHHS American Indian Health Director) - work on American Indian suicide prevention efforts in Montana

10:30 – 11:00 - Sadé Heart of the Hawk Ali, MA (Tribal Lead, Senior Project Associate with the Zero Suicide Institute) work on the Zero Suicide Toolkit for Indian Country

11:00 – 11:30 – Doug Stepina (Suicide Prevention Coordinator, VA Montana Health Care) – best practices for suicide prevention efforts for the veteran population

11:30 – Working group questions of the panelists and discussion of next steps