

SENATE MEMBERS SEN. JANET ELLIS

SEN. JOHN ESP

SEN. CARL GLIMM

SEN. TOM MCGILLVARY

SEN. SHANE MORIGEAU

SEN. CHRISTOPHER POPE

LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE 67th Montana Legislature

HOUSE MEMBERS REP. DAVID BEDEY REP. MARY CAFFERO REP. TERRY FALK REP. JIM HAMILTON REP. LLEW JONES REP. ERIC MATTHEWS

HOUSE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS REP. MIKE HOPKINS REP. BOB KELLY REP. BILL MERCER REP. TERRY MOORE REP. JERRY SCHILLINGER PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-2986 FAX (406) 444-3036

COMMITTEE STAFF AMY CARLSON, Legislative Fiscal Analyst JULIE JOHNSON, Attorney MARK YUKABOVICH, Secretary

MINUTES LOG May 19, 2023

Zoom Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at <u>https://leg.mt.gov</u>. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Rep. Llew Jones, Chair (R) Rep. Janet Ellis, Vice Chair (D) Rep. Eric Matthew (D) Rep. David Bedey (R) Rep. Mary Caferro (D) Rep. Jim Hamilton (D) Rep. Terry Moore (R) Rep. Bill Mercer (R) Sen. Christopher Pope (D) Sen. John Esp (R) Sen. Carl Glimm (R)

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES • JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • ANGIE CARTER, FINANCIAL SERVICES MANAGER

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

Sen. Tom McGillvray (R) Rep. Bob Keenan (R) Rep. Mike Hopkins (R) Sen. Shane Morigeau (R) Rep. Terry Falk (R) Rep. Jerry Schillinger (R)

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

STAFF PRESENT:

Amy Carlson, Legislative Fiscal Analyst Quinn Holzer, Assistant Director Julie Johnson, Attorney

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)

COMMITTEE ACTION

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

09:02:12 Sen. John Esp called the meeting to order at 3:02 PM. The Director Amy Carlson, (LFD) took roll.

Election Of Officers:

- 03:03:10 Sen. John Esp nominated Rep. Llew Jones as chair.
- 03:03:50 **<u>Vote</u>**: carried unanimously by voice vote.
- 03:04:17 Rep. Jim Hamilton nominated Sen. Janet Ellis as vice chair.
- 03:04:32 <u>Vote:</u> carried unanimously by voice vote.
- 03:06:22 Rep. Eric Matthews nominated Rep. Mary Caferro as secretary.
- 03:06:32 **Vote:** carried unanimously by voice vote.

Introduction to the LFC Roles and Responsibilities:

- 03:07:00 Director Amy Carlson, (LFD) presented an overview of the Legislative Finance Committee including roles, responsibilities, and interim focus.
- U3:15:20 Julie Johnson, (LFD) gave an overview of proposed draft committee rules.
- 03:19:02 Sen. John Esp
- 03:19:25 Rep. Llew Jones

Committee Action:

03:20:08	Rep. Llev	v Jones made	a motion to	accept proxy votes.

- 03:20:51 **Vote:** carried unanimously by voice vote.
- 03:25:15 Rep. Llew Jones made a motion to accept committee rules.

03:25:40 **<u>Vote</u>**: carried unanimously by voice vote.

LFC Appointments to Subcommittees, Work Groups and Studies:

03:27:05 Sen. John Esp

- 03:29:30 Rep. Llew Jones announced Republican MARA committee members.
- 03:25:49 Sen. Janet Ellis announced Democrat MARA committee members

LFC Travel Policy and Invitation to Attend NCSL August Summit:

- 03:32:40 Director Amy Carlson gave an overview of NCSL August Summit and an update on travel policy
- 03:35:17 Rep. Llew Jones spoke about past NCSL Summit events.
- 03:39:02 Sen. Tom McGillvray joined the meeting.

Public Comment: None

03:39:55

Committee Discussion:

- 03:40:10 Quinn Holzer, (LFD)
- 03:40:30 Rep. Llew Jones
- 03:41:49 Rep. Mary Caferro
- 03:43:02 Rep. David Bedey

ADJOURNMENT:

03:43:47 Sen. John Esp adjourned the meeting.