PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036



SENATE MEMBERS SEN. JOHN ESP SEN. CHRISTOPHER POPE

MODERNIZATION AND RISK ANALYSIS STUDY COMMITTEE 68th Montana Legislature

HOUSE MEMBERS
REP. MARY CAFERRO
REP. JIM HAMILTON
REP. BILL MERCER
REP. LLEW JONES

PUBLIC MEMBERS DWANE IVERSON HEATHER O'LOUGHLIN KENDALL COTTON LANCE FOURSTAR COMMITTEE STAFF
AMY CARLSON, Fiscal Analyst
JULIE JOHNSON, Attorney
MARK YAKUBOVICH, Secretary



LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE

68th Montana Legislature

Room 110 Capitol Building * P.O. Box 201711 * Helena, MT 59620-1711 * (406) 444-2986 * FAX (406) 444-3036

SENATE MEMBERS

Janet Ellis John Esp Carl Glimm Tom McGillvray Shane Morigeau Christopher Pope

HOUSE MEMBERS

David Bedey Mary Caferro Terry Falk Jim Hamilton Llew Jones Eric Matthews

Ex Officio Members Mike Hopkins Bob Keenan Bill Mercer Terry Moore Jerry Schillinger Amy Carlson, Legislative Fiscal Analyst Julie Johnson, Deputy Legal Director Grace Gibney, Executive Secretary

MINUTES LOG

September 14, 2023 Room 152 Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Rep. Llew Jones, Chair (R)

Rep. Terry Falk (R)

Rep. Eric Matthews (D)

Rep. David Bedey (R)

Rep. Jim Hamilton (R)

Sen. Tom McGillvray (R)

Sen. Janet Ellis (D)

Sen. Christopher Pope (D)

Sen. Shane Morigeau (D)

Sen. John Esp (R)

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

Rep. Mary Caferro (D)

Sen. Carl Glimm (R)

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS:

Rep. Bob Keenan (R)

Rep. Bill Mercer (R)

Rep. Terry Moore (R)

Rep. Jerry Schillinger (R)

Rep. Mike Hopkins (R)

STAFF PRESENT:

Director Amy Carlson, LFD Julie Johnson, Attorney Grace Gibney, Secretary

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)

COMMITTEE ACTION

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

08:37:19 Representative Llew Jones called the meeting to order.

08:37:29 Secretary took roll.

2025 BIENNIUM FISCAL REPORT:

08:40:45 Director Amy Carlson, Fiscal Analyst, (LFD) gave an updated overview of the

2025 Biennium Fiscal Report.

09:02:15 Representative Mary Caferro joined the meeting.

FYE 2023 REPORT OVERVIEW:

09:25:30	Susie Lindsay, Communications Director, (LFD)
08:00:00	Sam Schaefer, Lead Revenue Analyst, (LFD) continued to discuss the fiscal report.

RECAP OF FEDERAL STIMULUS APPROPRIATIONS AND SPENDING:

10:25:05	Quinn Holzer, Deputy Director, Legislative Fiscal Division, (LFD)
10:31:58	Katy Callon, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD) discussed Infrastructure
	Investment and Jobs Act federal funding and other grant programs across the state.

GOVERNRS OFFICE OF BUDGET AND PROGRAM PLANNING:
10:37:14 Assistant Director Ryan Evans, Office of Budget, an Assistant Director Ryan Evans, Office of Budget, and Program Planning, (OBPP) gave an overview of OBPP budget and an update on the Governors 'Debt Free in 23' plan.

SUBCOMMITTEE REPORTS:

11:10:08	Representative Terry Moore gave an update on Section A General Government subcommittee.
11:14:09	Representative Bob Keenan gave an update on Section B Department of Health and Human Services subcommittee.
11:18:19	Representative Jerry Schillinger gave an update on Section C Natural Resources and Transportation subcommittee.
11:22:11	Representative Bill Mercer gave an update on Section D Public Safety subcommittee.
11:33:39	Representative David Bedey gave an update on Section E Education subcommittee.
11:47:53	Representative Mike Hopkins gave an update on Section F Long Range Planning subcommittee. Montana Heritage Preservation Grant Program: FYE 2023 Fund Balance Reports
11:50:23	Senator John Esp gave an update on HB 5 Select Committee on Corrections Facility Capacity and System Development.
11:52:09	Representative Bob Keenan gave and update on HB 872 Behavioral Health System for Future Generations subcommittee.
11:59:06	Representative Llew Jones gave an update on the Modernization and Risk Analysis (MARA) committee. Interest in land grants was less than HJ 2 projections in the fiscal year 2024 in the biennium less than 1 year away from lesson yesterday

LUNCH:

02:04:09

12:16:56 Reconvened at 01:03:48

LEGISLATIVE AUDIT DIVISON:

01:04:09 Hunter McClure, Senior Information Systems Auditor, Legislative Audit Division, (LAD) discussed eGovernment Series 2: Accountability.

01:25:44 Kevin Gilbertson, Chief Information Officer, State Information Technology Services
Division (SITSD) presented a summary and overview of Statewide IT Policy Issues.

COMMITTEE WORKPLAN, BUDGET REVIEW, GOALS & OBJECTIVES:

Director Amy Carlson, Legislative Fiscal Analyst, (LFD)

02.07.00	Director Arry Garison, Edgislative Fiscal Arranyst, (El D)
02:04:53	Assistant Director Quinn Holzer, (LFD) gave an overview of HB 424 State Budget
02:06:44	Director Amy Carlson, (LFD) gave an overview of HB 872 committee.
02:12:53	Sam Schaefer, Lead Revenue Analyst, (LFD) discussed revenue work project updates.
02:28:31	Joe Triem, Assistant Director, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD) gave an overview of Legislative Council and Space needs. HB 856
02:54:43	Sam Schaefer, Lead Revenue Analyst, (LFD) discussed SJ4 and Financial Fiduciary Analysis on pensions.
03:03:05	Rep. Llew Jones appointed Sen. Tom McGillvray, Rep. Terry Moore, Rep. Eric Matthew and Rep. Jim Hamilton to a committee on pensions.
03:06:44	Director Amy Carlson discussed vision for the Legislative Fiscal Division going forward and changes to HB110 Interim Budget Committees. HB 140 MARA Significant change to Legislative Finance Act.

BREAK: Reconvened at 03:32:26

COMMITTEE BUSINESS:

03:46:43	Representative Llew Jones announced memo on Housing Authority.
03:47:00	Director Amy Carlson discussed spreadsheet on Item D.
04:20:16	Committee voted on adoption of the workplan by roll call vote 9 voting yes, 3 voting no.

STAFF INTRODUCTIONS: 04:22:40 Director Am

Director Amy Carlson introduced new LFD staff members to the committee.

STAFF ANNOUNCEMENTS:

04:25:52	Joe Triem and Director Amy Carlson presented Tami Gunlock with 20-year pin.
04:27:09	Quinn Holzer and Director Amy Carlson presented Walker Hopkins with 5-year pin.
04:28:15	Director Amy Carlson, (LFD) announced Joe Triem appointed secretary of National
	Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices and Nick VanBrown invited speaker at
	executive meeting August 2023.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

Rep. Llew Jones called for public comment. None was heard. 04:29:58

ADJOURNMENT: 04:31:14 Ch Chair Llew Jones adjourned the meeting.