
 
 
 
DATE:  March 12, 2018 
 
TO:  Legislative Finance Committee 
 
FROM:  Sam Schaefer 
  
RE:  Montana Vehicle Taxes and Fees 
 
In the 2017 Legislative Session the Montana legislature passed SB 95 and HB 650. SB 95 
increased registration fees by $825 on light vehicles that were ten years old or less with a 
manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) of more than $150,000. In addition, registration 
fees were increased by $800 for motor homes that were ten years old or less with a MSRP of 
more than $300,000. HB 650 created a 3% administrative fee on fees that the motor vehicle 
division (MVD) collects excluding the county option tax. Prior to these new fees, the MVD was 
partially funded with the Highway Special Revenue Account (HSRA). These fees were 
implemented to eliminate the need for HSRA funding within the MVD.   
 
The MVD began collecting the fees listed above in January of FY 2018. Year-to-date (YTD) 
amounts which include January and February collections are as follows.  
 

 
 

Given that it is early in the process with no historical data, it is difficult to estimate if YTD 
collections are on track with anticipated collections. It may take an entire fiscal year’s worth of 
collections to establish whether the newly implemented fees will be sufficient to cover MVD 
costs that were once budgeted using HSRA funds.  
 

Fee Type
SB 95 Luxury Motor Home/Vehicle Fee
HB 650 3% Administrative Fee

YTD Collections
$303,525
$489,262

Anticipated FY 2018
$2,500,000
$1,800,000
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http://leg.mt.gov/bills/2017/billpdf/SB0095.pdf
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/2017/billpdf/HB0650.pdf

