Print Version
Print Banner Print

Environmental Quality Council

The EQC is a state legislative committee created by the 1971 Montana Environmental Policy Act (MEPA). The EQC has 17 members: 6 senators; 6 representatives; 4 public members; and 1 nonvoting member who represents the Governor. The statutory duties of the Council are described in 75-1-324, MCA, of MEPA and in other sections of the Montana Code Annotated.

Members (print version)

Sign Up for Electronic Notices of Committee Activities

Live Streaming of Committee Meetings

Montana Environmental Policy Act

Meeting Schedule and Materials

Assigned Studies & Statutory Duties

  • HJ 1    Study of Biomass
  • HJ 30  Study Fire Suppression Issues
  • SJ 28  Study Recycling and Solid Waste Recovery
  • HJ 15  Study Funding for a Tourism and Recreation Enhancement Program
  • Agency Oversight



  • None assigned

Contact Us

Hope Stockwell, Sonja Nowakowski and Joe Kolman, Staff
Todd Everts, Legislative Environmental Analyst
Cynthia Peterson, Legislative Secretary
Environmental Quality Council
Legislative Environmental Policy Office
State Capitol Building
1301 E. 6th Ave., Room 171
P.O. Box 201704
Helena MT 59620-1704
Phone: (406) 444-3742
Fax: (406) 444-3971

Montana Legislature Facebook
Disclaimer | Help | Contact Us | Privacy &Security | MT Legislature Homepage | Back to Top
Last Modified:
3/6/2009 10:27:42 AM