Print Version
Print Banner Print

House of Representatives

House of Representatives, 2017

Members l Leaders l Committees l Audio/Video Broadcasts l Key Staff l Contact

The House of Representatives is one of 2 chambers of the Montana Legislature. The other is the Senate.

The Senate and House are responsible for organizing and establishing rules to govern their respective chambers. The House is governed by House Rules 2017 and Joint Rules 2017. The latter apply to both the House and Senate. Members of each chamber adopt new rules at the beginning of each legislative session.


The House is made up of 100 members elected to 2-year terms. Montanans elect all 100 members every 2 years. If you're not sure who represents you in the House, see "Find a Montana Legislator."


Speaker Austin Knudsen (R)
Speaker Pro Tempore Greg Hertz (R)
Majority Leader Ron Ehli (R)
Majority Whips Seth Berglee (R)
Alan Doane (R)
Theresa Manzella (R)
Brad Tschida (R)
Minority Leader Jenny Eck (D)
Minority Caucus Chair Tom Woods (D)
Minority Whips Nate McConnell (D)
Shane Morigeau (D)
Casey Schreiner (D)


There are 16 House committees, which meet on varying schedules to hear public comment on proposed legislation. All committee meetings are open to the public. Members of the House Appropriations Committee also serve on several joint subcommittees that meet to review state spending proposals.
Printable version of House Committees

Audio/Video Broadcasts

Watch or listen to floor sessions and committee hearings live over the Internet. Or watch or listen to archived broadcasts of previous floor sessions and committees.

Key Staff

Chief Clerk of the House
Lindsey Vroegindewey (Grovom)
406-459-6148 (cell)
Room 370, State Capitol

Sergeant at Arms
Bradley Murfitt
406-580-0971 (cell)
Room 470, State Capitol

Session Contact Information

By Phone
During legislative sessions, which occur in the first 4 months of odd-numbered years, you may leave a message for a legislator by calling the Legislative Information Desk, 406-444-4800. This service is available from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mondays through Fridays, and from 8 a.m. to adjournment on Saturdays.

By Mail
Address letters to:
Representative (NAME)
Montana House of Representatives
P.O. Box 200400
Helena, MT 59620-0400

By Online Message Form
Send a message to your legislator using the Legislative Branch online message form. This form is activated on the first day of each legislative session.

By Fax

Montana Legislature Facebook
Disclaimer | Help | Contact Us | Privacy &Security | MT Legislature Homepage | Back to Top
Last Modified:
2/20/2017 4:02:54 PM