Education Interim Committee

Education Interim Committee to Meet August 22, 2017

Committee: Education Interim Committee
Author: Pad McCracken
Posted on August 7, 2017

Education Interim Committee

The Education Interim Committee will hold its second meeting on Tuesday, August 22, 2017, in Room 137 of the State Capitol. The meeting will begin at 8:30 a.m. with updates from the Montana State Library and the Montana Historical Society and then continue with K-12 education topics for the remainder of the morning. The Office of Public Instruction (OPI) will provide a refresher on accessing information through its website and the state’s longitudinal data system GEMS, as well as update the committee on Montana’s Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) Plan. The House Joint Resolution No. 1 study of education funding for students with special needs will focus on special education funding as it currently works in Montana.

After a break for lunch, the afternoon will be devoted to higher education and the Montana University System (MUS). The Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education (OCHE) will review the 2017 MUS Strategic Plan, then the committee will discuss with MUS representatives possible ways of increasing collaboration between the legislature and the university system.

Senate members appointed to the committee are Tom Facey, D-Missoula; Edie McClafferty, D-Butte; Dan Salomon, R-Ronan; and Russ Tempel, R-Chester. House members are Fred Anderson, R-Great Falls; Jacob Bachmeier, D-Havre; Moffie Funk, D-Helena; and Don Jones, R-Billings. The committee is chaired by Sen. McClafferty with Rep. Anderson serving as vice chair.

The meeting will be live streamed at and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT.) Please check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area. For more information about the meeting, including a full agenda, visit the committee’s website or contact Pad McCracken, committee staff.

Committee Website:
Committee Staff: or (406) 444-3595