State-Tribal Relations Committee

The State-Tribal Relations Committee Holds its First Meeting

Committee: State-Tribal Relations Committee
Author: Hope Stockwell
Posted on June 28, 2017

Barley Field in Montana at Sunset

The State-Tribal Relations Committee holds its first meeting of the 2017-2018 interim on July 13 in Helena. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m. in Room 137 of the Capitol.

At its first meeting, the STRC will elect its leadership and adopt a work plan for the interim. The committee will also tour the Helena Indian Alliance and Leo Pocha Memorial Clinic. In addition, the STRC will receive updates on suicide prevention, appointment of the American Indian Health Director at DPHHS, SB 261 revenue triggers, and the 2016 American Indian Student Achievement Data Report.

Members of the 2017-2018 STRC include Senators Jennifer Gross, Steve Hinebauch, Jason Small, and Lea Whitford and Representatives Alan Doane, James O'Hara, Rae Peppers, and Jonathan Windy Boy.

The meeting will be live streamed at and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT). Please check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area. For more information about the meeting, including a full agenda, visit the committee’s website or contact Hope Stockwell, committee staff.

Committee website:
Committee staff: or 406-444-9280