State-Tribal Relations Committee

State-Tribal Relations Committee to Elect New Presiding Officer

Committee: State-Tribal Relations Committee
Author: Hope Stockwell
Posted on March 27, 2018

image of montana state capitol

The State-Tribal Relations Committee (STRC) will elect a new presiding officer at its meeting this week in Helena after Representative Jonathan Windy Boy (D-Box Elder) resigned from the committee last week due to work-related obligations.

The meeting is now scheduled to begin at 8:00 a.m. on Thursday, March 29, in room 152 of the Capitol.

On Monday, Speaker Austin Knudsen appointed Representative Sharon Stewart-Peregoy (D-Crow Agency) to fill the vacancy left by Windy Boy.

Other STRC members include Senators Jen Gross (D-Billings), Steve Hinebauch (R-Wibaux), Jason Small (R-Busby), and Frank Smith (D-Poplar) and Representatives Alan Doane (Vice Chair, R-Bloomfield), James O'Hara (R-Fort Benton), and Rae Peppers (D-Lame Deer).

The meeting will be live streamed at and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT). Please check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area.

For more information on the March 29-30 meeting, including a full agenda, visit the committee’s website or contact Hope Stockwell, committee staff.

Committee Website:
Committee Staff: or 406-444-9280