Montana Code Annotated 2021



Part 1. General Provisions

Structure Of Executive Branch

2-15-104. Structure of executive branch. (1) In accordance with the constitution, all executive and administrative offices, boards, commissions, agencies, and instrumentalities of the executive branch of state government and their respective functions are allocated by this chapter among and within the following departments or entities:

(a) department of administration;

(b) department of military affairs;

(c) department of revenue;

(d) state board of education;

(e) department of labor and industry;

(f) department of commerce;

(g) department of justice;

(h) department of public health and human services;

(i) department of corrections;

(j) department of transportation;

(k) department of public service regulation;

(l) department of agriculture;

(m) department of livestock;

(n) department of natural resources and conservation;

(o) department of fish, wildlife, and parks;

(p) department of environmental quality.

(2) For its internal structure, each department shall adhere to the following standard terms:

(a) The principal unit of a department is a division. Each division is headed by an administrator.

(b) The principal unit of a division is a bureau. Each bureau is headed by a chief.

(c) The principal unit of a bureau is a section. Each section is headed by a supervisor.

History: En. 82A-104 by Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 250, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 358, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 51, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 49, Ch. 213, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 82A-104; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 218, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 274, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 609, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 262, L. 1991; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 512, L. 1991; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 418, L. 1995; amd. Secs. 7, 568, Ch. 546, L. 1995.