Montana Code Annotated 2023



Part 18. Department of Commerce

Board Of Horseracing

2-15-1809. Board of horseracing. (1) There is a board of horseracing.

(2) (a) The board consists of seven members, appointed by the governor with the consent of the senate, who must be citizens, residents, and qualified electors of this state.

(b) Two board members must be in the horseracing industry and may not represent the same district as described in subsection (3). The other five members may not be in the horseracing industry.

(c) A member of the board may not wager at any licensed racing meet in this state.

(3) Except for members appointed pursuant to subsection (2)(b), the governor may not appoint any member who would have a conflict of interest during the member's term of appointment. The governor shall appoint, on the basis of experience and qualifications, one member from each of the following districts:

(a) first district, consisting of Blaine, Carter, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Garfield, McCone, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Rosebud, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, and Wibaux Counties;

(b) second district, consisting of Big Horn, Carbon, Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, Sweet Grass, Stillwater, Wheatland, and Yellowstone Counties;

(c) third district, consisting of Cascade, Chouteau, Glacier, Hill, Liberty, Pondera, Teton, and Toole Counties;

(d) fourth district, consisting of Beaverhead, Broadwater, Deer Lodge, Gallatin, Jefferson, Lewis and Clark, Madison, Meagher, Park, and Silver Bow Counties; and

(e) fifth district, consisting of Flathead, Granite, Lake, Lincoln, Missoula, Mineral, Powell, Ravalli, and Sanders Counties.

(4) Each member shall serve for a term of 3 years. The terms of the members must be staggered. A member may be removed from office by the governor only for cause.

(5) A board member may be reappointed by the governor. A vacancy on the board must be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the governor, with the consent of the senate, as provided in this section.

(6) The board is allocated to the department of commerce for administrative purposes only as prescribed in 2-15-121.

History: (1) thru (4)En. Sec. 1, Ch. 196, L. 1965; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 457, L. 1973; Sec. 62-501, R.C.M. 1947; redes. 82A-1602.13 by Sec. 12, Ch. 350, L. 1974; Sec. 82A-1602.13, R.C.M. 1947; (5)En. 82A-1602 by Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 250, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 285, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 57, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 58, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 84, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 99, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 354, Ch. 350, L. 1974; Sec. 82A-1602, R.C.M. 1947; R.C.M. 1947, 82A-1602(part), 82A-1602.13; MCA 1979, 2-15-1662; redes. 2-15-1881 by Sec; 4, Ch. 274, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 563, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 353, L. 1995; Sec. 2-15-1881, MCA 1999; redes. 2-15-3106 by Sec. 221(4), Ch. 483, L. 2001; Sec. 2-15-3106, MCA 2011; redes. 2-15-1809 by Sec. 2, Ch. 402, L. 2013.