Montana Code Annotated 2023



Part 41. Municipal Officers in General

Officers Of City Of First Class

7-4-4101. Officers of city of first class. (1) The officers of a city of the first class consist of:

(a) one mayor;

(b) two city council members from each ward; and

(c) one city judge.

(2) Except as provided in 7-5-4410, officers listed in subsection (1) must be elected by the qualified electors of the city.

(3) There may also be appointed by the mayor, with the advice and consent of the council:

(a) one city attorney;

(b) one city clerk;

(c) one city treasurer or finance officer or one city clerk-treasurer;

(d) one chief of police;

(e) one assessor;

(f) one street commissioner;

(g) one city jailer;

(h) one city surveyor; and

(i) any other officers necessary to carry out the provisions of this title.

(4) The city council may by ordinance prescribe the duties of all city officers and fix their compensation.

History: En. Sec. 4740, Pol. C. 1895; re-en. Sec. 3216, Rev. C. 1907; re-en. Sec. 4995, R.C.M. 1921; re-en. Sec. 4995, R.C.M. 1935; R.C.M. 1947, 11-701; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 447, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 445, Ch. 61, L. 2007; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 174, L. 2017.