Legislative Council

Montana Legislative Council Visits the Flathead

Committee: Legislative Council
Author: Susan Byorth Fox
Posted on March 7, 2018

Photograph of the Flathead Valley in winter

The leadership of the Montana Legislature is meeting in the Flathead area March 14-15. Members will visit the SQK Dam, accept public comment, and continue their work on issues ranging from the size of the legislature and legislator email to sexual harassment prevention training and policies.

The meeting convenes on March 14 at 12:30 p.m. in the Johnny Arlee & Vic Charlo Theater Rm. 106 at the Salish Kootenai College. The March 15 meeting convenes at 8 a.m. at the KwaTaqNuk Resort and is scheduled to adjourn by noon.

The meetings are a good opportunity for citizens to see the Legislative Council in action and to talk to members. The Council is a bipartisan committee composed of House and Senate leadership that is charged with educating the public about the workings of the Legislature, fostering public participation, and preserving the integrity of Legislature as an equal branch of government.

Members include the President of the Senate, Scott Sales, R-Bozeman and Speaker of the House Austin Knudsen, R-Culbertson. Sen. Fred Thomas, R-Stevensville, is the chair, and Rep. Jenny Eck, D-Helena, is the vice-chair. While the Council usually meets in Helena, members are visiting other Montana communities to bring government closer to residents. In December, the Council met in Bozeman, and in May the Council plans to travel to Butte.

The Council manages the operations of the Legislature and studies issues related to legislative business. During the business portions of the meeting, the Council will be discussing the size of the Legislature, constituent services accounts and legislative compensation, legislator email, and sexual harassment prevention training and policies.

Other members of the Council are Reps. House Majority Whip Seth Berglee, R-Joliet; Wylie Galt, R-Martinsdale; House Minority Whips Shane Morigeau, D-Missoula and Casey Schreiner, D-Great Falls. Senators are Senate Majority Whip Edward Buttrey, R-Great Falls; Senate Minority Whips Tom Facey, D-Missoula and JP Pomnichowski, D-Bozeman; and Senate Minority Leader Jon Sesso, D-Butte.

For the agenda, meeting materials, and more information:

Council Website: http://leg.mt.gov/css/Committees/Administration/Legislative%20Council/2017-18/default.asp
Council Staff: Susan Byorth Fox, sfox@mt.gov or 406-444-3066