2017-2018 Environmental Quality Council


The 2017-2018 interim is complete.

At its last meeting of the interim, the EQC adopted five committee bills related to funding aquatic invasive species programs and fire preparedness, bird dog training, oversight at the Libby asbestos Superfund site, and incentives for landowners to provide public hunting access. Each of the bills may be viewed here.

The video/audio meeting archives are still under development. However, meeting recordings are available using the interface below.

A Guide to Using the Archives

Past/Current Recordings

The EQC is a state legislative committee created by the 1971 Montana Environmental Policy Act (MEPA). The EQC has 17 members: 6 senators; 6 representatives; 4 public members; and 1 nonvoting member who represents the Governor. The statutory duties of the Council are described in 75-1-324, MCA, of MEPA and in other sections of the Montana Code Annotated.

Committee Staff:

Joe Kolman, Legislative Environmental Analyst
Hope Stockwell and Jason Mohr, Staff
Helen Thigpen, Attorney
Nadine Spencer, Legislative Secretary

Get all the latest information and news about the Interim Committees by visiting the online journal, The Interim.

The Interim Online Journal
leaf decorative element