Montana State Legislature

Criminal Justice Oversight Council

Next Scheduled Meeting:

June 28

State Capitol and Zoom

Meeting Information

Submit Public Comment

View Legislative News

Sign up for Email Notifications

For more information or questions about the Council, please contact Milly Allen, Legislative Services Division, (406) 444-9280.

2019-2020 Interim Meeting Materials

2017-2018 Interim Meeting Materials

The Legislature established the Criminal Justice Oversight Council in 2017 to oversee implementation of criminal justice legislation, including justice reinvestment, in Montana.

The Criminal Justice Oversight Council is a bipartisan, interbranch body. Membership includes legislators, Department of Corrections leadership, and individuals appointed by the Montana Supreme Court, the Attorney General, and the Governor. The Council's membership is provided in section 53-1-216, MCA.

List of 2021-2022 Members of the Council

Committee Members

June 28, 2022: Agenda - Summary Minutes - Audio / Video

May 11, 2022: Agenda- Summary Minutes - Audio/ Video

March 23, 2022: Agenda- Summary MinutesAudio/ Video

January 18, 2022: Agenda - Summary Minutes - Audio/Visual

October 27, 2021: Agenda - Summary Minutes  - Audio/Visual

September 29, 2021: AgendaSummary Minutes - Audio/Visual

Please see the meeting information page for handouts, slides, and other council materials.

The Criminal Justice Oversight Council is tasked with studying criminal justice reform, including justice reinvestment, in Montana.  

Assigned Study

  • HJ 34: Interim study of pretrial diversion and presentence diversion agreements

The statutory duties of the CJOC are outlined in 53-1-2016 MCA. requires the Legislative Services Division to provide staff support to the CJOC. 


This page will be updated with committee legislation, if any, as the interim session progresses.

Administrative Materials

Operating Rules and Procedures , adopted by the council on September 29, 2021

Work Matrix , adopted by the council on January 18, 2021

Presiding Officers

Chair - Rep. Barry Usher

Vice Chair - Mr. Jimmy Patelis