Montana State Legislature

2021-2022 Legislative Council

Next Scheduled Meeting:

Legislative Council &
Nomination Committee for the Commissioner on Political Practices
December 28, 2022


Meeting Information

Contact Jerry Howe for more information.

Submit Public Comment

View Legislative News

Sign up for Email Notifications

Committee Staff:

Jerry Howe
Executive Director

Todd Everts
Legal Services Director, Attorney

Fong Hom


The Legislative Council is a statutory, bipartisan, legislative committee established in 1957.  The Council is composed of the Speaker of the House, the President of the Senate, the Minority leaders of each chamber, and four members chosen by the Speaker of the House, and four members chosen by the Senate Committee on Committees, respectively two from the majority party and two from the minority party in each chamber.

It provides ongoing leadership, direction, and foresight for the efficient operation and improvement of the Legislative Branch. It is the administrative committee for the Legislative Services Division and the administrative committee that submits the Legislative Branch budget each session.

Committee Members