Montana State Legislature

MUS 2-Year Commission

The commission will meet for the first time on Friday, September 20, 2019, in Room 317 of the Montana State Capitol.

Meeting materials are linked below.

Would you like to receive emails with the latest information about upcoming meetings?

Sign up for E-Notices

The MUS 2-Year Commission was formed after the passage of HB 754 (Vinton) during the 2019 Legislative Session.

The temporary 16-member commission is tasked with

  • examining the impacts of incorporating the former vocational-technical centers into the Montana University System as 2-year campuses attached to 4-year campuses; and 
  • considering whether a different organizational structure would better serve Montanans.

The commission is required to meet quarterly and prepare a report of findings and recommendations to the 67th (2021) Legislature.



  • Sen. Dee Brown
  • Sen. Margie MacDonald
  • Sen. Edie McClafferty
  • Sen. Fred Thomas
  • Rep. Jacob Bachmeier
  • Rep. John Fuller
  • Rep. Bradley Hamlett
  • Rep. Llew Jones
  • Rep. Sue Vinton
  • Paul Tuss, Regent of Higher Education
  • Casey Lozar, Regent of Higher Education
  • Darlene Schottle, Member, Board of Public Education
  • Taylor Blossom, President, Associated Students of Montana
  • Dr. Sandra Boham, President, Salish Kootenai College
  • Joe Billion, public member, Bozeman
  • John Mercer, public member, Polson


decorative leaves element