Montana State Legislature

Department of Agriculture


Agency Leadership

Christy Clark, Director
Appointed by the Governor, confirmed by the Senate

Agency Website

Agency Overview

The Montana Department of Agriculture (MDA) operates more than 30 programs, many funded entirely through user fees. These include regulatory programs that protect producers, consumers and the environment, as well as development and marketing programs to foster growth in Montana agriculture. The Director's Office also serves as an advocate for Montana agriculture in national and international forums and works to make the department's programs accessible to the public. 

  • The Agricultural Development Division is responsible for administering programs that promote and enhance Montana agriculture. Within the division are four bureaus:
    • Rural Development Bureau
    • Wheat and Barley Bureau
    • Agricultural Marketing and Business Development Bureau
    • Montana State Grain Laboratory Bureau
  • The Agricultural Sciences Division provides agricultural, public and environmental services and protection through administration of the Montana laws and rules. Cooperative agreements with the USDA, Food and Drug Administration and Environmental Protection Agency provide services and jurisdiction in areas of interstate and international movement of plant materials, produce and feed; enforcement of FDA rules to prevent transmission of BSE disease in cattle; and the regulation of pesticide sales, use and production in Montana.
  • The Central Services Division provides accounting, budgeting, computer programming, fiscal management, human resources, payroll and benefits, public information, purchasing, property control, records management, systems analysis, training, website administration and legal support to all programs within the department.

Boards or other entities assigned to the Department of Agriculture

With appointments by the Governor With appointments by the Department
Board of Hail Insurance Noxious Weed Management Advisory Council
Montana Agricultural Development Council Organic Commodity Advisory Council
Montana Alfalfa Seed Committee Montana Potato Advisory Council
Montana Wheat and Barley Committee Montana Pulse Crop Advisory Committee
  Advisory Council on Special Pesticide Problems

Legislative Audits

Meeting Participation

July 2023:


decorative leaves element