Montana State Legislature

Department of Labor & Industry


Agency Leadership

Sarah Swanson, Commissioner
Appointed by the Governor, to be confirmed by the Senate in 2025

Agency Website

Agency Overview

The Department of Labor & Industry is comprised of three main divisions:

  • Employment Standards Division
    • Business Standards – Building Codes, permits, Weights and Measures, Professional Licensing, and Boards
      • Employment Relations – Worker’s Compensation, Human Rights, Workplace Safety and Health, Wage and Hour, Prevailing Wages, and Public Sector Collective Bargaining
  • Unemployment Insurance: Unemployment Insurance Claims, Fraudulent Claims, Pay and File Taxes, Employer Resources, and Quarterly Reports
  • Workforce Services: Job Services, Training, Skill Development, Jobs for Montana Graduates, Montana Registered Apprenticeship, Montana Works, Labor Market Information

Boards & Entities Attached to the Department of Labor & Industry

  • 32 professional and occupational licensing boards (most under Title 37)
  • Board of Personnel Appeals, established under 2-15-1705, MCA
  • The Commission for Human Rights, established under 2-15-1706, MCA
  • The Office of Workers' Compensation Judge, established under 2-15-1707, MCA
  • The State Workforce Innovation Board, established under 53-2-1203, MCA, in conjunction with federal law
  • The Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board, established under 2-15-1704, MCA

Legislative Audits

Statutorily Required Reports to Economic Affairs

  • Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Reports Annual Report; use in accordance with 37-3-356 MCA
  • Report on Unemployment Benefits for Victims of Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, or Stalking Annual Report; use in accordance with 39-51-2111 MCA
  • Apprenticeship & Training Annual Report; use in accordance with 39-6-101 MCA
  • Drug Registry Annual Report; Board of Pharmacy; use in accordance with 37-7-1514 MCA
  • Unemployment Insurance Program Integrity Act; use in accordance with 39-51-706
  • Weights and Measures License Fees Annual Report (SB53, 2023)
  • Use in accordance with 30-12-203 MCA 
  • Reports Concerning Board Attendance Annual; use in accordance with 37-1-107 MCA
  • Status of Special Revenue Account; Board of Funeral Services; use in accordance with 37-19-204 MCA
  • 09/27/2023: Medical Practitioner Drug Dispensing (one time report); Board of Pharmacy (SB374, 2021) Report
  • 07/01/2023: Board of Medical Examiners Annual Report on Complaints Against Physicians Certifying Medical Marijuana Use in accordance with 37-3-203 MCA;  Annual Report

Reports to the Legislature Related to Economic Affairs

Meeting Participation

January 2024:

November 2023:

September 2023:

July 2023:


decorative leaves element