Legislative Finance Committee




Aug. 25, 2020


Aug. 17, 2020


June 8, 2020


May 29, 2020 Video Conference


May 26, 2020 Video Conference


April 23, 2020 Video Conference


March 27, 2020 Joint Conference Call with Education Interim Committee


Jan. 14, 2020


Dec. 16, 2019


Sept. 18, 2019
Minutes (draft)


This subcommittee will evaluate education studies HB 657 and HB 633.

LFD STAFF: Kris Wilkinson, kwilkinson@mt.gov

Rep. Bedey, Chair
Sen. Ellis
Rep. Funk
Rep. Grubbs
Rep. Hamlett
Rep. Jones
Sen. McClafferty, Vice Chair
Sen. Salomon

June 22, 2020 Video Conference


Sept, 16, 2019


This subcommittee will evaluate the items in SB 310 related to budget schedules and processes in annual sessions, and the personal services budget study outlined in HB 715.

LFD STAFF: Quinn Holzer, QHolzer@mt.gov

Rep. Hopkins
Rep. Ryan
Sen. Jacobson
Sen. Osmundson
Sen. Sesso

Pensions & Local Government Subcommittee Findings and Recommendations

September 1, 2020 Video Conference

June 9, 2020 Video Conference


May 4, 2020 Video Conference


Dec. 16, 2019


Sept. 16, 2019
Audio / Video


This subcommittee will evaluate the pensions stress testing in HB 715 and follow up on the Office of Public Defender items raised in  the Section D appropriations subcommittee.

LFD STAFF: Sam Schaefer,samschaefer@mt.gov

Rep. Dudik
Rep. Hamilton
Rep. Lynch
Rep. Mercer

Information on this committee can be found here




Past Interim Meeting Materials

Dec. 6, 2016


Sept. 29-30, 2016


June 9-10, 2016


March 10-11, 2016


Dec. 7-8, 2015

Dec. 3, 2018 

Sept. 6 & 7, 2018

July 31, 2018

June 18 and 19, 2018

May 9, 2018


March 12, 2018

December 11, 2017

October 4-5, 2017

May 22, 2017


LFC Subcommittees 2019 Biennium

HB 661 Study of State Labs

Oct. 18, 2018


Aug 14, 2018 - Conference Call


April 24, 2018


February 22, 2018


January 30, 2018


October 23, 2017
(No agenda, work session only)


September 29, 2017


August 28 and 29, 2017


Joint Interim Subcommittee on The Changing Economy and Impacts to the Long-Term Viability of MT Tax Structure

March 13, 2018

Additional resources:


January 17, 2018

Meeting materials under development.


HB 639 Results First Study

Committee Members: Rep. Kimberly Dudik, Rep. Nancy Ballance, Rep. Marilyn Ryan, Rep. Kenneth Holmlund

HB 639 (2017 session) included an appropriation and language directing the Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) to complete an interim study creating a metrics-based approach to program review.  The LFC will monitor this study and gain further understanding of the “Results First” approach with a specific focus on the Child & Family Services Division of DPHHS. 

Meeting Dates

  • Organizational meeting: August 23, 2017, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m., room 172 State Capitol Building

Meeting Materials

HB 639 Study Legislative Finance Subcommittee Staff:
Josh Poulette, Fiscal Analyst
Karen Gilbert, Secretary


Archived Documents



The video/audio meeting archives are still under development. However, meeting recordings are available using the interface below.

A Guide to Using the Archives

Past/Current Recordings

The Legislative Finance Committee (LFC) is a permanent joint administrative committee of the Montana Legislature. Administrative committees are created by state law to manage the administrative functions of the Legislative Branch; the LFC oversees the Legislative Fiscal Division.

The LFC meets during the interim between sessions to review fiscal issues. Meeting agendas, minutes, and reports will be added to this website as they become available.

To find out how vacancies are filled, what the powers and duties of the committee are, and other details associated with the LFC, see the Montana Code Annotated, Title 5,Chapter 12, Part 2. Read the rules proposed in May 2017 for the Legislative Finance Committee.

For questions about accessibility or to request needed accommodations to attend or participate in this or any other Legislative Committee, please contact Lenore Adams 406-444-4456 or leadams@mt.gov (with as much lead time as possible), to arrange appropriate and seamless assistance.

Committee Members:

Sen. Janet Ellis
Sen. Tom Jacobson
Sen. Bob Keenan
Sen. Ryan Osmundson, Vice chair
Sen. Jon Sesso
Rep. Nancy Ballance, Ad hoc
Rep. David Bedey, Ad hoc
Rep. Mary Caferro, Ad hoc
Rep. Kimberly Dudik, Chair
Rep. Jim Hamilton, Ad hoc
Rep. Kenneth Holmlund
Rep. Mike Hopkins, Ad hoc
Rep. Llew Jones, Secretary
Rep. Ryan Lynch, Ad hoc
Rep. Bill Mercer
Rep. Rae Peppers
Rep. Marilyn Ryan

Committee Staff:

Amy Carlson, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Julie Johnson, Staff Attorney

Karen Gilbert, Committee Secretary